Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

  1. #1

    Member Since
    Jul 2011
    From
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    32

    Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    Hey ladies and gents. I just won a 1977 Star Wars Beach Towel (SuperTrooper Cape) and I would like some opinions on repairing it before I do so. I have been hunting this thing down for a year and a half and damaged or not this thing was going to be mine.

    So I have a couple options
    - Do nothing and rock the damaged vintage look
    - Trim the whole thing half an inch or so to make it even
    - Trim the damaged area off but not even to save more spacing from the end to the art
    - Clean up only the damaged part and let it be uneven

    I'm thinking of trimming the whole thing even which will bring the art closer to the edge but still give me some room and a clean look. I think only I would know it's not the full width.

    I do graphic design and was thinking of redoing the art and making capes with the art, not towels if people would be interested. That way it's light, capeish, and keeps that classic style with the art. Imagine the white cape most people use currently but with this art on top.

    So. What do you guys think in regards to trimming?


  2. #2
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,127

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    I dont know...probably frame that thing...

  3. #3
    Syper's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    From
    Fremont, CA
    Posts
    692

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    Saw it, I thought it would sell for much much more then what you paid! It was so hard not to bid on it, I really wanted to, but I have one and I knew whoever got it would appreciate having a rare Boba Fett related item. Great buy Brother! Welcome to the Fett towel club! ( is that a real club? No! Lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Syper's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    From
    Fremont, CA
    Posts
    692

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    BTW - don't do nothing to it at all, ever! Display it and if you use it on a supertrooper suit, leave it just the way it is


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    formerly Woodman woodman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2008
    From
    LR,Arkansas
    Posts
    1,326
    I would leave it as is myself the edges of towels are bound in a specific weave and if you cut that edge off the entire length is going to fray apart like the fringed ends.
    Quote Quote Posted from Android app

  6. #6

    Member Since
    Jul 2011
    From
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    32

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    I had a feeling most people would suggest not touching it. To add I did plan on taking it to a tailor to match the edge stitching so it wouldn't come undone. I do see your points. It is a classic piece now and altering it, is taking it's vintage wear away.

  7. #7

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    Is it possible that it can be scanned and reprinted to make a replica? I know a few people wanting to do this costume and need the towel.

  8. #8
    Jc27's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    From
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,609

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    I would leave it alone, other than a repair job to keep it from getting worse.

  9. #9

    Member Since
    Jul 2011
    From
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    32

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    I can scan remake the artwork and get it screen printed if I have enough people willing to buy. It will take more than just a couple people for it to be cost efficient. It's a 5 color screen print which isn't cheap. Once the towel comes in the mail I will start remaking the art.

    If I made a replica run on these would you guys prefer towels or boba capes made? The capes are lighter and not fuzzy so it would look better and be easier to wear.

  10. #10
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,127

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    Well isn't that interesting...I'm sure if you could do a run people would jump on it...depending on what the price was...

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

  11. #11

    Member Since
    Jan 2013
    From
    New Jersey
    Posts
    182

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    Nice buy ya got there!! I'd potentially be interested a replica, cape or towel doesnt necessarily matter to me as it'd be a display Fett. Hope your build goes well with this new treasure!

  12. #12

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    I would buy a replica as long as the price is fair. I know at least 3 others that will buy one as well.

  13. #13

    Member Since
    Jul 2011
    From
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    32

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    Well I'm all sorts of confused. I got mine in the mail and if I put the corner on my shoulder it drags. I'm 5'10 so I'm not that short. I was comparing the printing to a few others and mine is different. I have a blue and red Jawa where the others have a dark red and red Jawa. The thing is the two links below are different from each other in different ways. The edges, the copy right in the bottom right and etc. Do you guys think I have a replica. I wouldn't be mad but I'm not sure which is right because the promo photos were bad quality and black and white. Man I thought I scored an original. Now my excitement is deflated.

    http://www.potf2.com/files/aaron/Dscn0157stcape.jpg

    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f20/s...e-towel-49221/

    http://www.sideshowtoy.com/assets/pr...-armor-002.jpg

  14. #14
    Syper's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    From
    Fremont, CA
    Posts
    692

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    It's real mine is the same, it's a large beach towel. I believe they mounted it above the Death Star, up where the single star is. If you attach it there it would look correct.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #15

    Member Since
    Jul 2011
    From
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    32

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    Well the mounting makes sense but I wonder why there is two types of the towel and screen printing. I would love to see yours.

  16. #16
    Syper's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    From
    Fremont, CA
    Posts
    692

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    TrevOwnz said: View Post
    I wonder why there is two types of the towel and screen printing. I would love to see yours.
    Wait what? TrevOwnz you have a real and only supertrooper beach towel! I have seen only two ever for sale on eBay in the last five years. Search my name, supertrooper cape or towel and you'll find my found thread. Only part missing from your towel is the tag and thats right were the damage is in the lower left corner.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  17. #17
    full metal fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    From
    Bideford, Devon, United Kingdom
    Posts
    296

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    I'd be in for a replica if you can make it happen. Leave your towel as it is.

  18. #18

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    Also interested in a replica..

    Sent from my PadFone

  19. #19
    v7sg's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2009
    From
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    58

    Re: Need opinions on repairing SuperTrooper Cape

    I'd be in for a replica towel too, if the price is right

Similar Threads

  1. Need opinions on my latest attempt at mando art
    By 72555 in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Sep 28, 2010, 1:06 PM
  2. Need Opinions on a Boba Bust
    By Qrest Fourstar in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Aug 1, 2010, 3:44 PM
  3. Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett
    By Copley the Fett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: Feb 1, 2010, 11:57 PM
  4. Need opinions on Webley repair
    By phantomfett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jan 2, 2010, 10:11 PM
  5. Need opinions on this!
    By MacHuffy in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Mar 8, 2008, 12:45 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •