Subscribe
  1. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Jan 26, 2010, 3:18 AM - Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #1

    Hey everyone, I found some grey dickies coveralls the other day. I found one that almost fits me and it was only $20. I was going to remove the pockets and sew on the correct pockets. Then I was going to let it sit outside in the sun for weeks, basically I would flip it over every week. I am thinking that the sun will bleach the suit to a lighter grey. But then I thought about khaki because they had some there. I have no clue, but I feel like the sun bleaching method on the grey suit will work better and be less work than trying to turn the khaki into a light grey. So I'll leave it to the masters to help me decide. Or as a final option, they have white ones online for $40... but I kinda want to do my grey one, unless you guys think I should take the grey back and see if they have a khaki in my size. In the comparison picture that is my suit next to dickies khaki pants. In that particular photo the grey looks darker than it really is, couldn't get good light. The other picture shows the actual color a lot better. Either way, I feel giddy when I hold the suit, even in it's un-altered and un-weatherd state... just because I know what it will turn out to be and it makes me extremely excited

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0782.jpg 
Views:	200 
Size:	204.3 KB 
ID:	40808

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0783.jpg 
Views:	140 
Size:	139.3 KB 
ID:	40809
  2. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,579
    Jan 26, 2010, 11:26 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #2

    It looks like the same Green as my actual Flight Suit i wear to fly in. Hope it changes color for you
  3. formerly Woodman woodman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,346
    Jan 27, 2010, 12:21 AM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #3

    the colorfastness of dickies will keep them from fading to the level of lightness you want for a long time. look for all white painters coveralls if you are trying to save cash. all white will allow you to use RIT Pearl Grey dye.
    good luck.
  4. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Jan 27, 2010, 12:32 AM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #4

    thanks guys. I actually have about every single color of rit dye known to man. I use it for another hobbie of mine. Got pearl grey for sure.

    Fett for real - I know it looks green in the pics, a friend at work said the same thing, but it is def grey.

    Woodman - So, would u say that white dickies could be dyed pearl grey, or should I get a dif brand? Also, what do you think would happen to it if it were in the sun for months? What about misting it with a lighter grey as well? Again, thank you guys for your comments, I really appreciate it!
  5. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Jan 28, 2010, 8:40 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #5

    I'm suprized that no one else can give me any insight here. So no one else has tried to alter grey or khaki dickies? I'm almost starting to think that it may be easier to alter the color of the khaki ones. Anybody have suggestions? Can the grey dickies be bleached out? There is a post in the cargo hold for flight suits. The Rotj versions shown look very khaki to me. They look like a sun beaten dusty khaki. Is this correct? In most Referance pics I see the grey/light blue as well as tan.
  6. Ponte's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    245
    Jan 28, 2010, 9:17 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #6

    I think when it comes to the color of the flightsuit, it's in fact gray with a good amount of weathering done to it. The sleeves, front pockets, and especially the lower leg/shin areal misted with color tones of sand, mud-red (very light), and black. You can't see it as much in the AOSW flightsuit, but the MOM flightsuit has this same weathering applied.

    I would highly recommend saving for a flightsuit made by Bobamaker. Awesome quality, and the material is spot on. While it is possible to modify a dickies jumper, in the end it wouldn't come out as accurate as you want. The material is too thin, you wouldnt be able to remove the zip pockets, etc. Trust me, when you try to cut corners to save money, and take a long hard look at your investment, you really think "Man...this looks NOTHING like what I saw Boba wearing. I can do better". And the truth is, you can do better. You owe it to yourself to be wowed when you open up a package sent to you by a highly skilled, highly reputable vendor. I'm telling you, it is by far one of the cooler things in your Boba project donning a perfectly tailored, super accurate flightsuit.

    Just my 2 cents. I really want to see your SE Fett join the ranks of the awesome Fett builds we have on this board.
  7. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Jan 28, 2010, 10:56 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #7

    Dude, thanks for the post yeah... I am DIY almost all the way though. If this doesn't please
    me then I'll have an extra suit for a custom bounty hunter. I've been looking at my suit for a few days. I can remove all the pockets. If you look at the dickies website there are different styles they make. My particular style can be altered decently I beleave. The only thing I have to do is obtain more material that matches so I can make the doubled sleaves. The material itself on my suit is actually pretty hefty and durable. I actually want it to loosen up a bit. I'm gonna give this a try and if it fails I will make my own suit, my sewing
    machine is ready anytime

    Sorry for typos, dang iPhone.... I can't wait to get my fett done. It's a fire burning deep within me to get this thing done. So far all I have in a months time is: a neck seal, un-finished armor, un-finished ammo belt, and an unfinished flight suit :P. It's slow but steady progress. If anyone else has thoughts about the subject of this thread, please do post! Thanks guys
  8. Member Since
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Jan 29, 2010, 4:06 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #8

    I know when I built my Fett suit back, I bought a jumpsuit form JCPenney. It was called slate blue and was a really good match. I ended up buying a long sleeve and short sleeve version. Mainly so I could recreate that "double sleeve" part and to have extra fabric in the same color for all the pouches and shin pockets. I'm actually going there tonite so I will check to see if they still carry them.
  9. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Jan 29, 2010, 5:32 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #9

    Killer plan man. Thought about buying a second one myself. Total cost would be $40 for me. I worked on my suit last night, got a front zipper pocket off and one of the back pockets. I'll post pics when I get more progress. You should post pics as well! Oh and the tag of my suit says not to bleach. Talked
    to a lady at work and she described how I could go about fading my grey. I think it will work
  10. Member Since
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Jan 30, 2010, 9:45 AM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #10

    Ok, so here is a link to the JCPenney page. This is the suit I used to make my Fett jumpsuit. I bought the long sleeve and short sleeve, in the slate blue. I see now that they also have it in grey. I removed the collar and sewed on the shin pockets and thigh pouches. IMHO it turned out pretty well.

    http://www2.jcpenney.com/jcp/X6.aspx...06|53018|53079

    And here is a pic of my fett costume to show you how it looks all finished and weathered:

  11. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Jan 30, 2010, 10:11 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #11

    Hey bro, lookin good. Thanks for the link. I'm gonna stick with dickies for now. I got all my pockets off last night and tonight I will do a trial with bleach on one of those removed pockets. If it works out well I will go get another suit for my sleeves and pockets. After it's hemmed and what not, I will use different spray paints to weather it. Does anyone know how trivial the neck part is? I like the collar on my suit, but do I have to take it off?
  12. FettDad is offline FettDad
    Jan 31, 2010, 1:32 AM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #12

    i would recommend taking the collar off...it will get in the way of the neckseal i would think...you may be ok with it under the neckseal...maybe trim it some? so it doesnt have the part that flaps over? just a thought...
  13. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Jan 31, 2010, 1:38 AM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #13

    The collar is sick in my opinion... let me go take a picture.
  14. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Jan 31, 2010, 1:50 AM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #14

    Here's a couple pics. The collar could be under the neck seal. May be uncomfortable after awhile though.





  15. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Feb 1, 2010, 2:17 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #15

    Well dang it, I'm gonna have to do something different. I tried bleaching out one of my pockets last night with no success. The tag says not to bleach... yet bleach had no effect on it. Does anyone have any other ideas on fading material?
  16. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,579
    Feb 1, 2010, 3:20 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #16

    wash em in some bootleg detergent maybe even dish soap? DIsh soap is the harshest soap out there and let em sit in the sun for a good while?
  17. Member Since
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Feb 1, 2010, 4:17 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #17

    Arnt there kits you can buy to fade clothing? similair to stonewashing jeans? maybe where they keep the dyes and stuff? worth a shot...
  18. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Feb 1, 2010, 8:17 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #18

    Cool! Thanks for the input brothers! I will check into both options. I was gonna use the sun method. But itnwill probably take forever and ppl at work said that animals will mess up my suit. Birds will take threads for nests
    and mice and stuff might get into it. I planned on leaving it outside for a Long time... But I have to make pockets before I do that. And I don't really want to continue dumping time into a suit that won't ever fade out. A lady at work is going to bring me borax? She said she uses it to make clothes white. So I will try that as well. Again, thank you very much for your help guys
  19. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,579
    Feb 1, 2010, 8:22 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #19

    Yeh borax is some serious stuff right there...good luck...maybe itll bleach it
  20. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Feb 1, 2010, 11:04 PM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #20

    I have a feeling that borax will not work. But I will def try it out. Tonight I will try to fade some material with dishwasher soap. All won't be lost though. If this stays this color I will use it for my custom mando. Same color I was thinking about using anyways. But yeah, I wouldn't mind being able to get this one to a light grey. What do you guys think about using lighter greys and tans in a rattle cans and mist the suit to weather it and bring it to a lighter color. I actualy think that that might work...
  21. Copley the Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    126
    Feb 2, 2010, 12:57 AM - Re: Need opinions on my "flight suit" for SE Fett #21

    Quote Picasso_Fett said: View Post
    Arnt there kits you can buy to fade clothing? similair to stonewashing jeans? maybe where they keep the dyes and stuff? worth a shot...

    I asked the lady at work who has been helping me about that. She says there are kits, but she hasn't had much luck with them. I beleave that denim is the only material that she fades out. I asked her what she thought about making a small run of flight suits for a few members here. She's a great seamstress and has an industrial machine. I could easily make the flight suit myself, but I just haven't felt like getting that involved in sewing again. I may just go ahead and start looking for patterns. Does anyone know the BEST pattern to use for a flight suit?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 198
    Last Post: May 16, 2013, 12:55 AM
  2. The correct "jango fett suit color"..I think so
    By MAULFETT in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Apr 10, 2008, 2:09 PM
  3. "STUNT" Biker Scout pistol, or "Fun with Foam!"
    By Hotshot in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: Jan 29, 2008, 6:49 PM
  4. "The Lava"/ "Mystery Helmet" Let's solve this!
    By SgtFang in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: Jan 13, 2008, 1:21 PM