Subscribe
  1. Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    Posts
    250
    Aug 5, 2005, 2:35 PM - My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #1

    I finished modifying my Walls coveralls and then bleaching and then dying. What do you guys think of the color? Is it too blue or too dark? I think I may be happy with it once it's weathered. I'm leaving it out in my driveway for a while so the sun can bleach it some and I can run over it with my car when I come and go. This is the best way to weather it, right? I put the other stuff on there for a point of reference. ESB style, BTW.

  2. JangoUri's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    857
    Aug 5, 2005, 2:48 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #2

    It would be perfect for a Jango Costume. I buy you it

    Its good
  3. FrankFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    182
    Aug 5, 2005, 2:52 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #3

    Looks good to me Chris, maybe a little bit too blue, but I think your sun bleaching idea should work great! The car running over thing, hmmmm, havn't heard of that method . Anyway, looks pretty good to me buddy!

    Frank
  4. RBF's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,173
    Aug 5, 2005, 4:51 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #4

    I dont know how sunbleaching will affect dyed cloth, but only cotton (natural) fabrics will colour, synthetics won't ... My cape is synthetic and I wanted it to bleach a little.. didn't work, I wanted it to wrinkle so I made it wet and left it in a prop for a while.. didn't work.

    I think you should just keep it this colour and weathe rit with spray cans of paint, not really destroying or dirtying it up as it will go of in the washing machine leaving only the damage visible.

    Fett's suit is weathered and dirty, not really damaged with exception of a few dents here and there.
  5. Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    Posts
    250
    Aug 9, 2005, 10:00 AM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #5

    Funny thing happened. I figured I would throw it in the washing machine with some bleach to take some of the blue out. It took ALL of the blue out! Looked like it did when I started. So I re-dyed it with half as much dye and I like it much better.

    It is made of cotton so I was disapointed when I couldn't lighten up the original gray, using bleach and Rit dye remover, before dying it blueish. I just hit it with some spray paint to weather it and I think it looks decent. Hard to tell by itself. I might post a pic later if anyone is interested in seeing it.
  6. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,704
    Aug 9, 2005, 10:09 AM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #6

    Chris, please post an updated pic... love to see it.

    I weathered mine with various colors of spray paint misted over it in layers. Works like a charm.

    Leaving the fabric out in the sun WILL lighten the fabric but it may take a bit of time.
  7. Pavespawn's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    Posts
    589
    Aug 9, 2005, 10:17 AM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #7

    Has anyone tried weathering with dye? I mean use an airbrush to spray on the dye? That seems more permanant and you can wash it if you had to.
  8. Mr BobaFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    29
    Aug 9, 2005, 12:45 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #8

    Thats a great looking flight suit Great weathering technique,
  9. Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    Posts
    250
    Aug 9, 2005, 2:26 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #9

    Here's the updated pic. Taken in daylight again. I think the jumpsuit is too dark still but I may be wrong. It looks darker in person. I'll probably give it some more weathering later on.



    and the old pic for comparison:
    Last edited by Christo Fett; Aug 9, 2005 at 2:27 PM. Reason: added 2nd pic
  10. FrankFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    182
    Aug 9, 2005, 2:53 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #10

    Looking good to me! Where did you get the jumpsuit from? I am in the market for one, and still havn't found one I think I will be completely happy with yet. Shoot me a PM would ya?

    Frank
  11. JangoUri's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    857
    Aug 9, 2005, 2:55 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #11

    Now the color is correct
  12. Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    Posts
    250
    Aug 9, 2005, 3:08 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #12

    Frank - PM sent
    It's a modified Walls coverall from ebay.

    JangoUri - You don't want to buy it anymore?
  13. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,704
    Aug 9, 2005, 3:15 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #13

    Getting there...ESB is darker than ROTJ... should have a slightly blueish tint to it though... is it in there?
  14. Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,517
    Aug 9, 2005, 3:41 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #14

    Could be a tad to dark yet, but I think you are very close. lookin good!
    D
  15. Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    Posts
    250
    Aug 9, 2005, 3:56 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #15

    The blue tint is there and I too think it's still a little dark. Can't lighten it up any more with bleach or dye remover, that's why I was hoping to sun bleach it over time. Maybe my wife can take it in the tanning bed with her next time she goes.

    If I ever make my own again I will definitely start with white coveralls. I've read before that you should always dye the color up and not try to bleach the color out. I can see why.
  16. chewiepal's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    Posts
    276
    Aug 9, 2005, 5:23 PM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #16

    great colors.!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is right to me........
  17. bfett81's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    588
    Aug 10, 2005, 1:43 AM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #17

    Where did you get that armor?
  18. T-Visor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    379
    Aug 10, 2005, 2:52 AM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #18

    Looks like you have sewn on the straps for the jet pack directly on the jumpsuit ...
  19. Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    Posts
    250
    Aug 10, 2005, 7:38 AM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #19

    Quote bfett81 said:
    Where did you get that armor?
    It's all homemade using Sintra.


    Quote T-Visor said:
    Looks like you have sewn on the straps for the jet pack directly on the jumpsuit ...
    Yes, I have. I was wondering if anyone would notice that. The JP harness has been trouble for me. My JP is 12lbs and every system I have tried just doesn't work, the pack pulls down really hard. Not sure if I am going to stick with the sewed on straps either.
  20. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,704
    Aug 10, 2005, 8:44 AM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #20

    Quote Christo Fett said:
    Yes, I have. I was wondering if anyone would notice that. The JP harness has been trouble for me. My JP is 12lbs and every system I have tried just doesn't work, the pack pulls down really hard. Not sure if I am going to stick with the sewed on straps either.
    That's an interesting concept... not sure I've seen that done before. Let us know how that works!
  21. bfett81's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    588
    Aug 11, 2005, 1:26 AM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #21

    Quote Christo Fett said:
    It's all homemade using Sintra.
    You made it? Sorry for the interrogation, I sold my partially completed Fett costume on Ebay a few months ago, I am trying to track it.
  22. Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    Posts
    250
    Aug 11, 2005, 8:39 AM - Re: My Jumpsuit - Your Opinion, please #22

    Quote bfett81 said:
    You made it? Sorry for the interrogation, I sold my partially completed Fett costume on Ebay a few months ago, I am trying to track it.
    Yes, I made it. I assume it looks like yours did. You must have mad skills .

    Quote webchief said:
    That's an interesting concept... not sure I've seen that done before. Let us know how that works!
    The jet pack straps didn't work for me after all. It pulled my jumpsuit up way too much, again 12lbs connected to it. I ended up using a backpack that was laying around, worked great with some modifications. The straps on the jumpsuit would probably work great with a lighter jet pack. It was relatively comfortable and easier than a harness.

Similar Threads

  1. Opinion on Helmet
    By TK8495 in forum Site Support & News
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Jul 30, 2009, 7:47 AM
  2. Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets?
    By Thellmann in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Jul 29, 2009, 4:29 PM
  3. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 8:37 PM
  4. I need an opinion
    By recklessabandon in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 1, 2008, 8:00 PM
  5. need opinion one or two
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2006, 1:31 PM