MOW V2 Jet Pack Review

  1. #1
    Admin Staff obi sean kenobi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    United States
    Posts
    1,115

    MOW V2 Jetpack Review

    Hi all,

    I am writing a brief review of the new V2 Jet/Rocket Pack.

    In short, these packs are absolutely amazing - very well built, clean, sharp, light and worth every penny.

    Thje main body of the pack is made in resin, as are the thrusters, rocket and greeblies. The pack, out of the box, is already primer ready, with little to any clean up.

    The resin thrusters and rocket are very very nice. I have always been a longtime believer that MB's resin thrusters and rocket are the best out there (despite their age, I think the MB resin parts have held up amazingly well), however, these resin rockets and thrusters are so much nicer than even MBs and without all the air bubbles in the thrusters.

    What I liked the best was that the 'fins' on the rocket are separate molded parts, and are removeable (which I thought was really cool, b/c it reminded me of the original Fett sketches where the rocket was a grappling hook). I also really liked that the thrusters have little inserts that you can choose from to get the right look for your specific jp. Very very cool!!

    This pack was a breeze to paint, though I do advise you give it a thorough wash in warm water and dish detergent to remove any and all mold release which may interfere with the paint.

    As far as size, this pack is slightly larger than the old MB packs, as you can see below with the comparison to my MB Jango pack. I like the bigger scale and feel it more appropriate than the smaller MB pack.

    Below are pictures of mine, painted ESB style with the movie accurate RS paint scheme, and also compared to my MB pack.

    Well done MOW!!

    Thanks,
    OSK
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails img00043-20090701-2241-jpg   img00044-20090701-2321-jpg   img00048-20090701-2323-jpg  

    img00049-20090701-2323-jpg   img00050-20090701-2324-jpg   img00054-20090702-1007-jpg  

    Last edited by obi sean kenobi; Jul 2, 2009 at 2:44 PM.

  2. #2
    cojake's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2007
    From
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    497

    Re: MOW V2 Jetpack Review

    Makes me wanna upgrade to the newer version now. 1st the new iphone and now this. Maybe if I wait for the MOW version 3 he'll figure out a way to make it actually fly.

  3. #3

    Re: MOW V2 Jetpack Review

    I received mine recently, and it is just amazing! Christian is the man! Nice job OSK, BTW.


    G-Fett

  4. #4
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: MOW V2 Jetpack Review

    Looks very nice. Great paintjob too!!!

    Are they pretty solid??? Resin always scares me a bit. I'm more of a FG guy. But...my new FP gauntlets are resin, and they feel like they are tough as nails!!!

  5. #5
    FettFanatic's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2006
    From
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    747

    Re: MOW V2 Jetpack Review

    I would have to say that Christian does an awesome job on these. Don't even worry about it being made of resin. The casting is so thick you don't need any more support. If you are on the fence about getting one jump on off and grab one while you can. I love mine and haven't even got to really work on it yet.

  6. #6

    Re: MOW V2 Jetpack Review

    Hey Thanks guys..really appreciate it..Great work Sean!

  7. #7
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Sep 2006
    From
    Spain
    Posts
    1,712

    Re: MOW V2 Jetpack Review

    obi sean kenobi said: View Post
    Below are pictures of mine, painted ESB style with the movie accurate RS paint scheme, and also compared to my MB pack.
    I didn't knew RS had psoted the colours for the ESB jet pack

Similar Threads

  1. District 9 Review
    By Art Andrews in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: May 9, 2012, 2:42 PM
  2. X-Files: I Want To Believe review
    By vadr_h8r in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Jul 25, 2008, 8:53 PM
  3. ESB Progress & Review
    By CMAnavy in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Oct 14, 2007, 2:07 AM
  4. FP backplate/armor review
    By Jango's kid in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: Aug 12, 2005, 2:13 AM
  5. New Rangefinder Review
    By Purity Knight in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Aug 24, 2002, 1:57 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •