Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

MLC vs. BM Jet Packs - opinions and comparisons

  1. #1
    DarthVader1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Phenix City, AL
    Posts
    2,462

    MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    The reason I've started this thread is to show members NOT to create competition, but to give them an idea of price vs. versatility vs. accuracy. We understand....BOTH ARE FIBERGLASS, both has access doors in the back (jet pack is hollow, and great for adding custom beacons and stabilizers, not talking about STORAGE, like for some change, wallet, etc.). Some people prefer versatibility, others prefer to go for accuracy. Decisions, decisions!

    We understand that both are different shapes and sizes in a way by a "microscale", but we are also looking into how heavy they are, and the cost, from what I've seen and heard so far.

    MLC's jet pack is the lighter of both, and cheaper in price, which is DOUBLE FEATURE for the "Fett money-saving enthusiast". In the other hand, we have BM's Jet Pack, "more accurate" in features, versatile in the way it is assembled, crisp detail, but price is way above than MLC's, and it's a bit heavy, even that it's also hollow according to the pics. Not sure about the JP rocket. Is it hollow??? Thrusters as well???? Are both versions with hollow rockets???

    Can anyone who owns either one or both, post comparison pics, info, details and opinions of their work? This is the thread to post all that.


    Robert

  2. #2
    Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    2,199

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    I have owned both an MLC1 and the MLC2 jet packs. I loved both of them. I haven't even seen the BM inperson so I can't compare the two all I can say is how I feel about my MLCs that I had.

    As you mentioned the weight is very little on the MLC (both versions) and this should be a big factor when choosing a jet pack for actually wearing as a heavy one will be a pain to wear for any amount of time. I could wear my MLCs for an entire day (6-8 hours) with out a problem.

    AS far as which is more accurate that was the entire reason the MLC2 came to be. Mardon took the suggestions of many members here to make a more accurate jet pack. He redid the thrusters as well as the rocket and many of the main body shapes. He sharpened details all over. Personally I think that it was plenty accurate and no one short of people that have the real deal to comapare to can really notice any differences.

    Also a thing to mention is that the MLCs are very sturdy, I have knocked mine around, smashed them into door frames all kinds of stupid things on accident and they stood up with out so much as a scratch.

    Also as you mentioned above price is a HUGE factor in many a Fetts decision making process, (it wasn't so much in mine the 2nd time around). The MLC packs are around $350-$385 where as the BM ones are at least 150-200 more.

    I want to make sure that I am clear here that I am in no way bashing BM, his work, or his prices as he makes very fine parts and everyone I have talked to that gets things from him have been happy with them.

    But for my money MLC is the way to go.

  3. #3
    CombatBaby's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    From
    The miserable mill
    Posts
    2,325

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    As far as I know the MLC2 really took a jump on the accuracy scale over the original MLC (which I still think is a pretty nice pack when you look at the other random kits that pop up on prop forums and ebay). I haven't seen a bobamaker jet pack in person so it's hard to decide which would be better to troop in. I believe it to be however one of the most accurate out there after following the progress on his site last year. However, the price is up there so you really do get what you pay for.

    Whether you go with something from Daz or Mardon you'll be getting a great product from each.

    Trooping in a fiberglass pack never killed me, I don't think the bobamaker is really heavy or a lot heavier than the MLC2, you could always pm him and ask for the weight or check if it is on the site

    -=QuinN!

  4. #4
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    I currently own an MLC1. My BM :jet pack is enroute. When it arrives, I'll post some pics and post what each one weighs. Regardless of what the data show, I will say both :jet packs are of supreme quality!

  5. #5

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Scott,
    Show pics of the MLC!!!
    Show pics of the MLC!!!

  6. #6

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    I'm not going to be buying a jet pack ANYtime soon, but I've been starting to look into: Who to buy from? What material should it be made of? How large is the hollow space inside the jet pack, etc? From what I've been told, the choices come down to these two prop makers. My main issue is price as I really can't afford more than $350 or so which leaves me thinking I'll be sporting an MLC unless I can luck into a good deal on a used one. That is after pestering you hour after hour until you just sell me your own just to shut me up!


  7. #7
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    slave1pilot said: View Post
    Scott,
    Show pics of the MLC!!!
    Show pics of the MLC!!!
    But ya already posted pics of it in the TDH Image Gallery.

    Dha Syntir said: View Post
    My main issue is price as I really can't afford more than $350 or so which leaves me thinking I'll be sporting an MLC unless I can luck into a good deal on a used one.
    A used one???? Wouldn't a used one mean already painted? If so, $350 ain't gonna do it. I'm pretty sure I saw somebody auction off a painted MLC2 in The Cargo Hold, and it went for $1k. On the contrary, it is possible to get an unpainted MLC :jet pack for the amount you're talkin' about.

    Dha Syntir said: View Post
    That is after pestering you hour after hour until you just sell me your own just to shut me up!

    The person that will shut ya up will probably be a mod!

  8. #8

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    ......oh, and dont forget that if MLC goes into one of his 'crazy trades', the jet packs would even cost you lower!

  9. #9
    Mr Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,077

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    What kind of 'crazy trades' are you looking for?

  10. #10

    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Whitehorse, Yukon
    Posts
    1,094

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Mr Fett said: View Post
    What kind of 'crazy trades' are you looking for?
    No joke man, would you be willing to take a mountain bike for trade?
    Thant's all I've got that I can trade at the momet

  11. #11
    Halo_1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    East Coast, Singapore
    Posts
    1,437

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    I myself own a MLC2 and I love it! Mardon really went out on the suggestions made by the other members and improved on a already well made JP.

    As for the crazy trades, MLC loves fruits, especially the Apple variety! LOL!

    Mardon bro, got a project I'd like you to handle. LMK if you're good with this.

    Stay safe,

    Tim.

  12. #12
    Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    2,199

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Jimmy BufFETT said: View Post
    But ya already posted pics of it in the TDH Image Gallery.



    A used one???? Wouldn't a used one mean already painted? If so, $350 ain't gonna do it. I'm pretty sure I saw somebody auction off a painted MLC2 in The Cargo Hold, and it went for $1k. On the contrary, it is possible to get an unpainted MLC :jet pack for the amount you're talkin' about.



    The person that will shut ya up will probably be a mod!

    Yea that was me that sold the "used" pack for $1000. It was my brand new MLC ver2 pack that I painted. "Used" in this case really doesn't mean cheap.

  13. #13

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    It went for $1K??!! Jeesh, we better explore painting them up then!

    Seriously thou, I strongly believe that the packs we produce is only half the journey....and those who have incredible painting skills do complete the experience!

    Hats off to those great painters that bring our packs to the best that they can be!

    Yo Tim - just send me an email: mlcallanta@yahoo.com

  14. #14
    Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    2,199

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Hey Mardon if you want to trade some stuff for me to paint some packs for you to sell let me know we can work out a deal

  15. #15
    asok's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2002
    From
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    mlcallanta said: View Post
    ......oh, and dont forget that if MLC goes into one of his 'crazy trades', the jet packs would even cost you lower!
    I love his crazy trades. How are the new speakers?

  16. #16

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Predatormv said: View Post
    Hey Mardon if you want to trade some stuff for me to paint some packs for you to sell let me know we can work out a deal
    Now this is definitely enticing.......shoot me an email & lets see where this journey takes us

  17. #17

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    asok said: View Post
    I love his crazy trades. How are the new speakers?
    Oh man, it sounds like a million bucks!
    It is the envy of my car club

    Thank You!

  18. #18

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    mlcallanta said: View Post
    Now this is definitely enticing.......shoot me an email & lets see where this journey takes us
    DUDE!
    I emailed you a few times offering to paint a pack for you in exchange for a discount.
    never heard back, so I had to buy one (again) outright.
    I guess my skills ain't good enuff
    Rex, said my JP is enroute from you


    Sorry to weasel in on your action Predatormy

  19. #19
    Indy_Solo's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    CA
    Posts
    116

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Love my BM JP! Shunned did a beautiful paint job on it! Check it out in the image gallery:

    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/photoplog/index.php?n=71

  20. #20
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    The moment I've been waitin' for occurred today! My new BM :jet pack arrived. So now I can post pics so y'all can compare.

    First off, each one's weight:
    MLC1 = 4 lbs 11.0 oz (2.13 kg)
    BM = 6 lbs 0.5 oz (2.74 kg)

    And now the pics:

    MLC1:


    BM:


    MLC1 left; BM right:

  21. #21

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Scott, Did BM paint that one himself?

  22. #22
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    slave1pilot said: View Post
    Scott, Did BM paint that one himself?
    Yes he did!

  23. #23

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Cool,
    very nice work
    To be fair to MLC, here's a pic I cropped together with the MLC version 2 and your BM pack side by side
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails p60400154-jpg  

  24. #24
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Hey slave1pilot, is it possible to do another cropping and put the MLC1 next to the MLC2 ya have? I'd definitely like to see how those look side by side.:jet pack:jet pack:jet pack

  25. #25

    Re: MLC vs. BM Jetpacks - opinions and comparisons

    Jimmy BufFETT said: View Post
    Hey slave1pilot, is it possible to do another cropping and put the MLC1 next to the MLC2 ya have? I'd definitely like to see how those look side by side.:jet pack:jet pack:jet pack
    Scott,
    Christi posted pics of my packs in this thread
    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=13287
    They are real pics, not photoshopped, side by side
    I used to have a bunch of comparison pics, but my hard drive crashed & they are gone forever

Similar Threads

  1. Mrgr8ness bucket complete-with comparisons!
    By mrgr8ness in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Apr 13, 2007, 8:40 AM
  2. Jimmy's Jet Packs - Need Opinions
    By Jimmy BufFETT in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: Jul 23, 2006, 8:23 PM
  3. Helmet comparisons
    By bobafett669 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Mar 31, 2005, 5:07 PM
  4. Pics of green and white vinyl DP comparisons
    By PropReplicator in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Jul 8, 2004, 5:35 PM
  5. Helmet abbreviations & comparisons???
    By malcfett in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: Jul 3, 2003, 10:36 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •