Knee armor. Need opinionsUPDATE 8/30/04

  1. #1

    Knee armor. Need opinionsUPDATE 8/30/04

    I have been working on Fett knees and trying to get it to were it looks good. I have already done two prototypes the first was much to small but I think the second mite be pretty good. I tried to get the shape as close as possible to Jango's knees. I am going to use the same technique I used for my cod. I am going to fill in the bottom with bondo to give it that slant. What do you guys think so far?
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/kneeprototype1.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/kneeprototype2.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/kneeprototype3.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/kneeprototype4.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/kneeprototype5.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/kneeprototype6.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/kneeprototype7.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/kneeprototype8.jpg>

  2. #2

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    Looks good. The panel where the "f"s go seems a bit wide but it looks great.

  3. #3

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    I was thinking the same about the panel but looking at Fett's knees it looks about that wide. But I don't have that many good reference pics of that area. So I may be off a bit. Any body got good pics of the F panels?

  4. #4
    Jango_Fett_Jr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2002
    From
    St. Catharines, ON
    Posts
    1,957

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    Very nice idea buddy, most sintra knees I've seen have been totally flat. Nice to see you put that big detail into yours

  5. #5

    Member Since
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    722

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    Looks great ..keep it coming.

  6. #6

    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    84

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    way to go, Looks real good.
    How about makeing me a pair

  7. #7

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    Thanks guys

    Hopefully I will be getting some good pics soon so I will try and make them even better.

  8. #8

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    I put the bondo on a few days ago. It looks like ot just mite work out.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/Pvknee10.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/pvknee11.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/pvknee12.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/pvknee13.jpg>

  9. #9
    T-Bone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2003
    From
    Lanett, AL
    Posts
    965

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    For a cutom, i thought it might look cool to leave the little ridge in it, but now that you got them filled its looks good.

    Keep up the good work!

    P.S. Have you been trying to bleach your suit...Mine is STILL too blue...


  10. #10

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    Thanks

    No, I gave up on trying to bleach that suit. I don't think it is going to happen. I still need to try RIT dye remover but I still don't think that is going to work. I am just going to have to by a flight suit gray.

  11. #11

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    I made the side details today. The outside detail is a little boxy I think. It will work out as is but I am going to try and give it more curvature. also it is not finished. The pieces are just taped on in the pics. So it mite look better cleaned up.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/pvknee14.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/pvknee16.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/pvknee17.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/pvknee18.jpg>

  12. #12

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinions

    I glued the pieces to the side missile detail and cleaned it up. It looks a little better but still doesn't look Boba enough. I think I went towards Jango to much. I made a new template for it that I think will look more like Boba's. But this one will do for my custom
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee19.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee20.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee21.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee22.jpg>

  13. #13

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinionsUPDATE 8/30/04

    The right knee is now almost finished. The construction is complete and I have started on the paint. I painted it silver yesterday. Today i am painting them fire red for my custom. I also started construction on the left knee a few days ago.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee23.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee24.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee25.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee27.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee26.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee28.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee29.jpg>
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee30.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee31.jpg>

  14. #14
    SEEKER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    From
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,363

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinionsUPDATE 8/30/04

    Great job man.

  15. #15
    cal196's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    From
    Earth
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinionsUPDATE 8/30/04

    Nice job, I hate the knee part, its my bane I have attempted to make them 5 times at least my last pair breaking in half at the weak points. I got mad and had mine fabricated from 1/8 steel and the blacksmith put in the curve at the bottom from a picture I had.

    To my surprise He knew who boba Fett was He was around 60. Still not finished with them though, what did you use for the blocky thing btw?

  16. #16
    askywalker98's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2004
    From
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    1,673

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinionsUPDATE 8/30/04

    Thats some pretty nice stuff right there. Goodluck!

  17. #17

    Re: Knee armor. Need opinionsUPDATE 8/30/04

    Thanks guys. Have any pic you can post of the metal knees u have? I painted it today and it is pretty much finished. all I have o do is attach some snaps and paint the back. I also made some missile pieces for the side. They are a couple of super glue containers. I think they look pretty cool painted.
    <img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee32.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee33.jpg><img src=http://200.72.163.179:8080/cdref/tdh/Armor/PVknee34.jpg>


Similar Threads

  1. Knee Armor
    By TheBushmaster in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Aug 31, 2009, 3:57 AM
  2. Knee Armor?
    By thksdad in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Sep 30, 2008, 1:11 PM
  3. How? (Knee Armor)
    By Eht_Eno in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Jul 31, 2004, 1:17 AM
  4. Knee armor
    By ACSS2 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 3, 2004, 12:54 PM
  5. My New Knee Armor - NEW !
    By fettpride in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Feb 26, 2003, 11:19 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •