Subscribe
  1. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jul 15, 2006, 7:59 PM - Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #1

    Howdy fellers! I got my 3rd :jet pack yesterday, and I am looking for opinions here. Which :jet pack do you like better? Which looks more screen accurate? Do you recommend I modify anything; switch anything; adjust anything?

    Jet Pack #2:



    Jet Pack #3:


    #2 on left; #3 on right:


    Jet Pack #2 weighs 8 lbs 14 oz and jet pack #3 weighs 7 lbs 3 oz. Again, I'd appreciate all comments ... but please be gentle.
  2. I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,520
    Jul 15, 2006, 11:30 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #2

    Hello! Jet Pack 3 looks more accurate in body shape and paint job, though the fuel nozzles along with the side thruster things on Jet Pack 2 look better than those on 3. Nice jet packs though! They look way different in size, how tall are they?
  3. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jul 16, 2006, 1:23 AM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #3

    Jet Pack #2 measures 35 inches from the floor to the tip of the rocket. Jet Pack #3 measures 30 inches from the floor to the tip of the rocket. I'm glad you like jet pack #3 better because it's lighter than jet pack #2 ... I've got a spinal injury ... having a heavy jet pack may cut my trooping time short.
  4. electric_jay's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2006
    Posts
    208
    Jul 16, 2006, 1:27 AM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #4

    #3 is way better, paintjob-wise. The first one looks...well, this is gonna sound strange, but it looks like burned cheese. Whoever did the paint to look all heat-damaged got the realism down, but different colors would make it look less...kinda...gross. Sorry, but yeah...gross.
    So to sum up...#3.
  5. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jul 16, 2006, 1:37 AM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #5

    Quote electric_jay said:
    The first one looks...well, this is gonna sound strange, but it looks like burned cheese.
    OMG ... I can't even believe you just said that! I compared those colors to the top a browned cheesecake when I saw it! Anyway ... thanks for your input!
  6. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jul 20, 2006, 2:26 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #6

    I took a few things off jet pack #2 and moved them to jet pack #3 (a few people including me like #3 better.) Here is the result:


    I will be wearing this one at Comic Con this Saturday.
  7. stonerook's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    240
    Jul 20, 2006, 2:44 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #7

    Yep = that is a good choice!

    I like it
  8. Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,517
    Jul 20, 2006, 3:24 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #8

    Ditto
  9. mrgr8ness's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,604
    Jul 20, 2006, 3:36 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #9

    JP #3 looks terrible. Send it to me, and I will dispose of it for you at no cost. j/k, yeah I like #3 a lot. Looks great
  10. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jul 20, 2006, 3:47 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #10

    Quote mrgr8ness said:
    JP #3 looks terrible. Send it to me, and I will dispose of it for you at no cost. j/k, yeah I like #3 a lot. Looks great
    I can send the rocket over to ya, but by the time you know it's coming ... it'll be too late for you!:jet pack Ha ha ha ... jest messin' around. Glad y'all like it.
  11. TeamFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,303
    Jul 20, 2006, 6:08 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #11

    What are you going to do with jet pack #2?
  12. Caomhanach's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    198
    Jul 20, 2006, 6:45 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #12

    Jet pack 2 looks HUGE in comparison... jp3 definitely looks better... nice paint job btw...
  13. BobaFettSlave_1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,716
    Jul 20, 2006, 7:53 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #13

    omg. your 3rd? where do you get the free cash boy!?>
  14. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jul 20, 2006, 9:29 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #14

    Quote TeamFett said:
    What are you going to do with jet pack #2?
    I'll probably auction it off sometime in the future. Just not right now ... kinda busy.

    Quote BobaFettSlave_1 said:
    omg. your 3rd? where do you get the free cash boy!?>
    At the beginning of my senior year in college (I wasn't enlisted in the 501st yet), the Johns Hopkins billing office all of a sudden said I owe them a couple thousand dollars. As much as I would fight them telling them they screwed up and here is where and why (because none of the gosh darn administrative branches were EVER on the same page when I was enrolled ) ... I still had to pay it. So I spent most of my senior year workin' to make that money back ... and I made it back plus some (I was selling on eBay ... and that kept me EXTREMELY busy!) And then at the end of my senior year (probably around the same time I started trooping as Boba Fett) the billing department said ... "yeah, we screwed up ... here's your couple thousand back." So there ya have it.

    By the way, here is a pic of all 3 (#1 left; #2 center; #3 right)
  15. BobaFettSlave_1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,716
    Jul 20, 2006, 10:14 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #15

    kewl XD
  16. mrgr8ness's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,604
    Jul 21, 2006, 3:48 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #16

    How bout posting the makers of all 3, to give people the size comparisons?
  17. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jul 23, 2006, 9:23 PM - Re: Jimmy's Jetpacks - Need Opinions #17

    I honestly do not know who made each. But I think it's because they were not made by any prop makers, but I could be wrong on that.

Similar Threads

  1. Jimmy BufFETT Holiday Special Fett Photoshoot
    By Art Andrews in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: Jul 8, 2008, 10:17 PM
  2. Congrats Jimmy BufFETT
    By Farva in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Feb 17, 2008, 5:46 AM
  3. I met Jimmy BufFETT today...
    By Ground_Trooper in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: Dec 19, 2007, 11:54 AM
  4. Jimmy BufFETT's Blaster repair.
    By Spideyfett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: Aug 27, 2007, 9:05 AM
  5. MLC vs. BM Jet Packs - opinions and comparisons
    By DarthVader1 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: Apr 2, 2007, 12:06 AM