J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

  1. #1
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    Hey everybody. I've been working on a new cape the past couple of days, & changed a few things. I basically used MaxPlauge's tutorial, (thanx Max.) My old cape wasn't too bad, but I thought I could improve it. The old one is flannel & I couldn't get the ratty frayed look with that, so the new one is 100% cotton, which turned out better I think. I also narrowed the stripe a bit, and lightened the color some, Orange instead of red. I tried dying the stripe w/ rit & the spraybottle technique, but the stripe nearly disapeared after washing. I used light coats of spraypaint instead.I haven't decided if I will add one more coat to darken the stripe a bit & define the edges more. please let me know what you guys think, & thanx for lookin. Thanx for hostin Secol.

    Heres my old cape



    and heres the new one


  2. #2

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    Looks great JK! Both are stunning, but the second is dead on! (I really like that mannaquin too. Use the $30 technique?)

  3. #3
    Bountys Hunted's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    From
    Northern California
    Posts
    2,354

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    Looks good! Hard to believe you made it look so darn cool w/ spray paint!!



    Very cool. I remember when you first did it, bought some fabric to do it too, and that's as far as I got!!


  4. #4

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    Nice job! I think you really made a nice cape on your second one.

    As for the Rit fading after washing, yeah, I've had the same troubles myself.

    What worked really well for me was using a dye that actually came in a spray bottle, there must be something a little different about the formula. I think the brand was Tulip...but I can't remember for sure...I'll have to try to find it again.

    Good job!

  5. #5

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    That looks really great, bro. I'm partial to the first one because it shows-up real nice, but the second looks more correct probably. Either one is a winner if you ask me.

    Congratulations, I used this thread to post my 1000th post. Don't you feel special?

    Here's how I see the cape dying subject;

    One- you can use RIT dye and have it fade,
    or
    Two- you can use a spray bottle of Tulip.

    According to MaxPlague, Tulip's is better than One. heh heh heh(Sorry, couldn't resist)

  6. #6
    Bountys Hunted's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    From
    Northern California
    Posts
    2,354

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)


    MegalomaniacalMandalore wrote:


    Congratulations, I used this thread to post my 1000th post. Don't you feel special?
    Well, Congrats General MMM!


  7. #7
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    Congrats on your 1000th post buddy! I do feel special! thanx a ton for all the input & comments guys. Fettcicle was kind enough to share a little trick with me that worked well for him in relation to the dyeing/fading problem. Apparently a bit of time in the oven helps some, & posssibly ironing the stripe will work as well. guess I'll have to try that next! thanx again guys,
    Damian

  8. #8

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    I think that looks just about stolen Really nice job. I'm going to be doing one of my own soon and have a few questions.

    1.The 100% cotton material you used, is it a canvas type like the shelter tents used for RotJ?

    2.Did the material have a base color already and you only added the stripe, or was the whole thing a die job, minus the stripe of course?

    3.Just specifics on the colors. What brand used for the spray paint and or die, and also what are the names of the colors used as listed by the manufacturer?

    I'm looking for near identical results, being that yours came out so great. Again fantastic job!!!


  9. #9
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    The material I used is not of the canvas type, it is very flowing & a fairly loose woven fabrick. This gives all the folds when the cape is draped over the shoulder, yet bunches up very nicely when thrown over the back-the position it is usually in during ESB screen time. the stuff I got was already colored grey/brown, but you could probably get white easier & dye the whole thing. I plan on experimenting with this as well. If I could find this fabric in any large size, Id probably buy a whole bolt of it & make a bunch of capes. As luck would have it, I have never been able to find a good cape fabric in pieces larger than 2 yards that is the correct color, (& I've been looking for a long time.) the spraypaint I used for the stripe is found at tractor supply. look in the tractor/implement section. The can actually says tractor & implement on the front of it, & is made by BPS. The color is Kubuta orange, & the # is 5339-24. Hope that gives ya some direction, & thanx for the comments,
    Damian

  10. #10

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    FROM WHAT I UNDERSTAND , THE ACCTUAL CAPE WAS MADE FROM A WOOL "HUDSON BAY" BLANKET .WHICH I JUST HAPPENED TO FIND AND SCORE ON EBAY.THEY ARE ON THERE EVERY NOW AND THEN .

    IT IS A CHAMPAIGNE AND TAN COLORED " 3 AND A HALF POINT" BLANKET . THEY USED TO SEW LINES OR "POINTS" ON THE BLANKETS TO TELL HOW MANY BEAVER PELTS TO TRADE INDIANS FOR THE BLANKETS.

    I WILL BE ABLE TO CUT IT INTO ABOUT FOR CAPES AND I WILL BE ABLE TO GET RID OF 3 . I'LL KEEP EVERYONE POSTED.

    LATER ,CORY

  11. #11

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    YES, WE KNO......er, ahem.....we know, or at least thought we knew, about it being a type of trade-blanket. It has been discussed to some extent in a previous thread. I have looked through my various sources, and couldn't quite hit the exact coloring (BTW, I am a fur-trade historian and very much aware of trade blankets ). I would be very interested in seeing yours, but the link wouldn't come up when I tried to view it in your post.

    I still think the original was either a blanket or some type of selvage material. But, JK's work here is stupendous and about as close as one can get without having the exact item. Kudos to the Kid.

  12. #12

    Re: J-kids new & improved ESB cape (opinions?)

    Fantastic!!! Thanks for the info, That's going to be a big help when I get rolling on this. One last question....does anyone know if the ESB cape had any type of stitching around any of the edges like the RotJ version?

Similar Threads

  1. FYI: Improved Search Functionality
    By Art Andrews in forum Site News & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jan 29, 2010, 3:30 PM
  2. Showoff: MY New Improved Fett (Pic Heavy)
    By mandosoldier in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 9, 2008, 8:49 AM
  3. Improved Fett Bust
    By supa troop in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Nov 28, 2005, 5:03 PM
  4. J kids JP progress (10-23)
    By Jango's kid in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: Oct 24, 2004, 7:35 PM
  5. BatNinja\'s New **IMPROVED** Ammo Belt
    By batninja in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Feb 27, 2004, 10:10 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •