Help!

  1. #1
    hobbit057's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    246

    Help!

    Im currently at the stage with my chest armour to cut out the space for the display. I am going to go with the Fettronics display and i have the measurements but really would like some detailed thread, I have had a look around but cant find much on the procedure. I am a bit nervous about doing it and I am not that skilled with a dremel. I was planning to drill out the corners and file out the rest.... Just need some guidance on this, thanks for looking!

  2. #2
    Scott Kaufmann's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Boerne, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,011
    I would suggest first scoring it along the edges with a exacto or hobby knife. Then deemed enough where you feel comfortable. Then sand down whatever is left.

  3. #3
    hobbit057's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    246

    Re: Help!

    It is RKD armour, should I still try to score?

  4. #4

    Re: Help!

    Look for the RKD armor thread, he shows how he cut his display slots out.

    Here is a link to the post I was talking about.

    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f25/r...tml#post556720
    Last edited by Natrix; May 8, 2012 at 11:23 AM. Reason: Added link

  5. #5
    redkraytdragon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2010
    From
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    1,059

    Re: Help!

    Nathan beat me to it! Thanks buddy

  6. #6
    hobbit057's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    246

    Re: Help!

    Thanks guys! Sorry i got in a bit of a panic, I didn't want to wreck my beautiful armour!! I did take some advice though I checked the thread and got the measurements off fettronics website. Made some adjustments to the awesome templates from wizardofflight, I then fixed the template and scored it then drilled it out. Then got my friendly file out and got it looking quite nice. I will be posting some pics on my build thread later today.
    I have had a bit of trouble getting on TDH over the last few days, have the servers been going down lately? anyone else had any trouble?

  7. #7
    redkraytdragon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2010
    From
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    1,059

    Re: Help!

    Yes, I've been having some trouble as well the last few days this week. Server issues??

  8. #8
    hobbit057's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    246

    Re: Help!

    Ok so, new day... new prob, I am using spray cans for the primer and silver coats on the armour....the next coats will be airbrushed, I am having a lot of trouble with dust at the moment while painting, It wasn't a prob with the primer because I rubbed it down with sandpaper but Its still a problem as I have added the silver coat I can see dust and hair through the paint. Do I rub it down a bit? Do I keep rubbing down every coat? Has anyone else had this problem?

  9. #9
    redkraytdragon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2010
    From
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    1,059

    Re: Help!

    I usually sand between each coat, but I've never had issues of seeing dust and hair through the paint

  10. #10
    jakefox24's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2011
    From
    Fordingbridge, New Forest
    Posts
    259

    Re: Help!

    I am a vehicle paint sprayer by trade , if you have flatted primer you should of blown the piece off, degreased and then used a tack cloth to wipe off any small dust particles. Both can be got from your after market auto shops. If you need to key your paint between coats use a dry scotch pad ultra fine grade . But paint should be open enough to recoat in 24 hours . Hope i've helped Jake

  11. #11
    hobbit057's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    246

    Re: Help!

    Hey, thanks I will try the scotchbrite pads. But does sanding in between coats dull the paint?

  12. #12
    ThePhantom's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2011
    From
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    263

    Re: Help!

    I used fine grade steel wool (from Bunnings) between coats on mine. I used spray paint cans and it does get a bit bumpy and the steel wool helped out a lot. Plus it helped to take off a bit of the shine.

  13. #13

    Help!

    Hair?! Do you paint in a barbershop?!
    Quote Quote Posted from iOS app

  14. #14
    jakefox24's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2011
    From
    Fordingbridge, New Forest
    Posts
    259

    Re: Help!

    Yes Hobbit it will take off the shine but can polish up , you don't want a shine on your armour though so you can always use a matt or satin clear coat when you've finished all your colours .

  15. #15
    redkraytdragon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2010
    From
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    1,059

    Re: Help!

    Fettistics said: View Post
    Hair?! Do you paint in a barbershop?!
    LMAO!!!

  16. #16
    hobbit057's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    246

    Re: Help!

    Fettistics said: View Post
    Hair?! Do you paint in a barbershop?!
    Bahahaha! You would think so! Im painting in a shed, Its not great but its not the worst either. I have started airbrushing today and there is no problem at all now. Is it possible these cheap cruddy spray cans have got surprises in the actual cans? I cant figure out why..... I think there would be less hair in a barber shop!

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •