Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

FP backplate/armor review

  1. #1
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    FP backplate/armor review: new pics 7/28

    Hey Folks. As most of you know, FP is back in business to help us out with our fett needs. Theres a whole other post about that, but I gotta say it again...Its great to have him back. I just recieved my new FP armour, and wanted to post about it. This is the 3rd set of armour I have owned, and while all the other stuff was really nice, FP's stuff takes the cake!!! Its is of superb craftsmanship, and without a doubt, the most accurate stuff I have ever seen!! In addition, (and I'm shure most people will agree with me here,) FP is one of the most stand-up guys I have ever dealt with!

    I posted a few pics of the FG armour I got from FP. For those of you that want to really go accurate, you can get vaced as well!! The pictures really don't do it justice. (I'm not to good with a camera )


    Just look at the detail on that shoulder!!! Dents are spot-on!!!


    And for the first time ever....The FP Backplate is now available!!!! As with everything else from FP, the size and proportion of the backplate is astonishing. It is also very well constructed/well made!!!

    SO in conclusion, this stuff is fantastic. After years of working on my fett, the end is finally in sight. THis is one aspect of my suit that I'm 100 % positive I won't be upgrading. I'll be posting more pics as I go along with this stuff, so you can see how the size compares with a MSH2, etc, and how it looks assembled & painted. Now....on to the pics!!!

    Damian
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails nfparmor1-jpg   nfparmor-jpg   nfpshoulder-jpg  

    nfpbackplate2-jpg   nfpbackplate1-jpg   nfpbackplate3-jpg  

    nfpbackplate4-jpg  
    Last edited by Jango's kid; Jul 28, 2005 at 9:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Beautiful!

  3. #3

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    BREATHTAKING.

    You guys are really going to give each other a good run for who has the best fett !!

  4. #4
    cal196's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    From
    Earth
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    That looks great, I think I will get vacc'ed. Must be light. Any modifiying to the backplate/collar? Or do they fit together perfectly like I suspect?

  5. #5

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    I have the vac and they are a dream to work with. You won't regret it !

  6. #6
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    The backplate & collar seem to line up perfectly Cal. I'm going to drill the holes for the 4 bolts this weekend. I'll post annother pic for you once I get that done so you can see how they line up & fit together
    Damian

  7. #7
    Mr Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,077

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Would you expect anything less from the Boba master FP?


  8. #8
    cal196's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    From
    Earth
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Ya silly me. I am also just asking things maybe others might ask to just get it out of the way.

  9. #9

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Wow ! :o

    Thanks for the gowing review !!! I'm seriously glad you like the armor
    bud ... !!!:thumbup

    Have fun with the paint process !

    FP

  10. #10
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Well, if it wouid ever quit raining, I'm hoping to have most of my painting done today Man...this stuff is such a complete joy to work with!!! Having all the dents in the right place etc really makes painting and weathering sssoooooo much easier...no more fudging and guessing when trying to get a fairly accurate paintup!!! forgot to take a pic of the collar/backplate joint. Was too anxious to get some paint on it & totally spaced!! You should still be able to see how it lines up with paint on it though Stay tuned
    Damian

  11. #11

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Jango's kid said:
    Well, if it wouid ever quit raining, I'm hoping to have most of my painting done today Man...this stuff is such a complete joy to work with!!! Having all the dents in the right place etc really makes painting and weathering sssoooooo much easier...no more fudging and guessing when trying to get a fairly accurate paintup!!! forgot to take a pic of the collar/backplate joint. Was too anxious to get some paint on it & totally spaced!! You should still be able to see how it lines up with paint on it though Stay tuned
    Damian
    Isn't it nice to get a Fine Piece of work that you don't have to prep, or sand?...it's ready to primer and paint.........NIIIIICCE...

  12. #12
    cal196's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    From
    Earth
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Has anyone ever had a problem with paint crackling on the chrome layer? i sanded all my armor to the white And sprayed primer/then silver when I applied the catapillar yellow is crackled all over and i had to resand it off, any idea why that is? Silver was testors.

  13. #13

    Re: FP backplate/armor review



    Speaking of which, I've been asked numerous times why I do NOT primer
    my items before letting them walk out the door. I figured it was time to address that ...

    By providing a clean raw piece, the person who gets them can see that there are minimal to zero imperfections in the gelcoat finish. If you see a primered piece from me, that means there were imperfections in the pretty white gel coat that had to be filled and sanded with body filler, hence the need for primer to pretty it back up. Filing and priming is actually more of the norm in the fiberglass and fabrication industry. There's nothing wrong with it. What I do is actually "Odd" in contrast in a manner of speaking. But the way I figure it, Boba Armor was white plastic. Just because your getting fiberglass, doesn't mean you can't have the accurate under color 8) Besides, in my experience, most people want to prime themselves. Not knowing what kind of primer was used, could cause incompatability issues with paints you might use on your pieces. And, some just feel better having the final hand in finishing the surface themselves so that they can feel confident that there were no oils, or contaminants on the surface before priming.

    But, so that there is no confusion about what I just said, it should be understood that there are others that make pieces that are gray in color, but this does not necessarily mean they are primer coated. Some individuals simply prefer gray gelcoat as their outter finish. Then there are others, who pull their pieces, with whatever color gelcoat they prefer, then fill and sand, and then spray a same color gelcoat layer over the top of that to finsih it off. It's up to you to ask before hand unless it's otherwise specified.

    Hope that explains it ..

    FP




    Spideyfett said:
    Isn't it nice to get a Fine Piece of work that you don't have to prep, or sand?...it's ready to primer and paint.........NIIIIICCE...
    Last edited by fettpride; Jul 25, 2005 at 7:34 PM. Reason: Spelling

  14. #14

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Ahhh yes.. I see...8)

  15. #15
    judz dwedd's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    1,529

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    I happen to be one who uses gray gelcoat, unless a specific color is needed. White gelcoat, (as I'm sure FP is well aware of) is the hardest color to see air bubbles in while laminating. I've used white for troopers, scouts, This outfit,
    <--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    and soon, clonetroopers. You really need to look at your piece from many angles, when laminating over white. This should give you a good idea of the extra effort involved for FP to stay true Boba's lineage. As I run Jango armor, I feel exempt from this requirement, and go with gray.

  16. #16

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Man you said it, the eye strain can get pretty uncomfortable
    Thanks for the backup man

    FP



    judz dwedd said:
    White gelcoat, (as I'm sure FP is well aware of) is the hardest color to see air bubbles in while laminating. You really need to look at your piece from many angles, when laminating over white. This should give you a good idea of the extra effort involved for FP to stay true Boba's lineage. As I run Jango armor, I feel exempt from this requirement, and go with gray.

  17. #17
    judz dwedd's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    1,529

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    fettpride said:
    Man you said it, the eye strain can get pretty uncomfortable
    Thanks for the backup man

    FP
    Try running a trooper calf in a closed mold with a half-ounce layer of chopstrand, and get it resin lean, for flexability. It's like laminating inside a long tube with one end slightly larger than the other. Talk about eye strain.

  18. #18

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Nope ... that's just craziness man .. pure and simple.
    Last edited by fettpride; Jul 26, 2005 at 4:35 PM.

  19. #19
    judz dwedd's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    1,529

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Agreed, but it does give nice seemles leg armor. 8)

  20. #20

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    True .. but I'm to big anyway, I need the seams

    E-Mail Response on the way BTW

    FP

  21. #21
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Well folks, I made some real progress on my FP stuff this past weekend, & thought some of you might like to see how it looks painted up. Mine is ESB style of course Once more for the record: THis stuff is just fantastic!!! One of the best fett purchases I ever made. No more armour upgrades for Jango's kid The first pic is indoors at night w/ rather poor lighting, the rest are outside in the evening. The last one I was trying to show you guys how the collar/backplate junction works. LMK what you think. Thanx agian to FP!!!!
    Damian
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 728fpesbjkid3-jpg   728fpesbjkid-jpg   728fpesbjkid2-jpg  

    728fpesbjkidcollarjoint-jpg  

  22. #22

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Beautiful...

  23. #23
    Jango_Fett_Jr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2002
    From
    St. Catharines, ON
    Posts
    1,957

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Great work as always Damian! That handpainted chest symbol looks awesome, did you do the skull the same way?

  24. #24
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Yup. It was a real pain in the butt though!!! I screwed up on the skull once, and the wheat symbol twice!!! Lotts of extra sanding down & repainting. I like the way they turned out though

  25. #25
    Mr Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,077

    Re: FP backplate/armor review

    Wow! You handpainted the 2 "stickers" ?!?! Looks great (as does the rest of the painting).

Similar Threads

  1. fettpride armor v3 collar/backplate overlap and collar studs
    By obi sean kenobi in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 26, 2009, 12:05 PM
  2. ebay purchased metal armor review
    By Icedevil in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Aug 13, 2005, 1:31 PM
  3. Finished knee armor ..Pics and review..
    By CBT Fett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Jul 11, 2003, 7:22 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •