Subscribe
  1. CBT Fett
    Guest
    Jul 10, 2003, 11:10 AM - Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #1

    Hi chaps .

    Finally got around to finishing off the knee armor today . The kit was very nice and most of the hard work was done already just light sanding and a bit of work with the heatgun and they where ready to paint. Undercoat of chrome dulled down, masked , off white detailing,masked, then 3 coats of sunshine yellow and then finally dulled down some more and wethered . Great kit to make and nice and chunky so for anyone sitting on the fence about these they get the CBT thumbs up



    A big thanks goes out to Bob and Todd for the knee kit and to Russ for the excellent knee darts.

    Only down side was I realised I'd sewn my tool pockets on far to high :/ ah well cant get everything right first crack hehe

    Cheers

    Steve
  2. Han Hunter's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    953
    Jul 10, 2003, 11:28 AM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #2

    Nice work Steve. Very nice.

    Who did your j/suit, if you don't mind me asking. I have a load of grey fabric that I would like to be that shape (with the exception of the high shin pockets )

    Si
  3. b.fett
    Guest
    Jul 10, 2003, 11:29 AM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #3

    Nice job!
    (On my 1st. jumpsuit I also accidently sewed the tool pockets too high )

  4. CBT Fett
    Guest
    Jul 10, 2003, 11:45 AM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #4

    Thanks for the kind words guys

    Ehhhh the jumpsuit sewing well that would be me. Dont know where I learnt to sew or even how to set up a sewing machine it just kinda happened

    I couldnt have dreamt in a million years that it would have tunred out half as good as it did .Think I must have been some kinda suit maker in a past life

    Cheers

    Steve
  5. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,703
    Jul 10, 2003, 4:14 PM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #5

    Steve, they look GREAT!!!!!! Awesome job! I'm so glad that it finally worked out for you and I'm glad you're satisfied with the results!

    Since Todd doesn't come to TDH I'll take this opportunity to thank you from him as well.
  6. ukscout's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    297
    Jul 10, 2003, 4:36 PM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #6

    hi steve

    looking good matey nice work.

    Well i hope mine will look as good as yours.................
    mine melted when i added more support to the sides as i used Evostic glue not knowing it makes the plastic soft and rubbery.

    Ive had i nightmare trying to salvage them and there held together with resin and car filler and way a ton

    but ive managed to salvage them and just need to sand and paint and i hope they look good as yours

    what did you use to keep the elastic glued onto the knee armour?

    can you PM me any details on the jumpsuit materails etc... please

    cheers

    neil
    uk-scoutTB7290
    www.uk-scout.co.uk
    ukbikerscout@hotmail.com

  7. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,703
    Jul 10, 2003, 5:11 PM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #7

    I just used a hot glue gun to attach the elastics to mine.
  8. RussRep's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    Posts
    575
    Jul 10, 2003, 5:36 PM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #8

    Hi Steve nice work!!!!!!
    Russ
  9. CBT Fett
    Guest
    Jul 11, 2003, 1:56 AM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #9

    Thanks again guys

    Neil I cant think which evostik glue you used but it must have generated a heck of a lot of heat to soften them

    As bob said I just used a hot glue gun and on the darts side I actually passed the elastic through the bolt that holds the top dart in position ( I re-drilled and tapped the knee darts to accept a larger bolt rather then filling the side recess with resin and tapping that for the grub threads that where supplied ) It was just a prefernce thing to keep the weight down on them.

    PM sent about the material

    Ill post some pics of the suit a bit later on for you

    Cheers

    Steve
  10. Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    781
    Jul 11, 2003, 5:46 AM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #10

    Did you have to bend them yourself with a heatgn?!
    I'm awating my set too anytime now
    -Mikael

  11. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,703
    Jul 11, 2003, 7:22 AM - Re: Finished knee armor ..Pics and review.. #11

    Mikael,

    I can't believe your set hasn't arrived already. He sent your set out the same day as CBT Fett's and UK Scout's.

Similar Threads

  1. Jango_Wes\'s boot review (now with pics)
    By Lynn TXP 0369 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: May 24, 2010, 8:24 PM
  2. Finished my electronics in my RF topper - Review
    By evan4218 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: Oct 5, 2006, 2:07 AM
  3. My Finished Knee Guards !
    By Real Scooby in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Aug 9, 2006, 9:40 AM
  4. Sintra Made Knee armor pics
    By dgasser in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: May 27, 2004, 9:03 PM
  5. The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*
    By Trooper TK409 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Jul 30, 2003, 6:48 AM