Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. WTFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    373
    Jul 10, 2011, 1:46 PM - Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? *Updated 10-2-11* #1

    With gloves and MOW boots it will be complete (for now..), but tried test fitting everything last night. I need to:
    -dirty the flak vest to better match the flightsuit
    -tighten the elastic on the knees, add thong
    -mist the cod and backplate to tone down the green
    -install armor studs/cape
    Anything else?




    Last edited by WTFett; Oct 2, 2011 at 10:43 PM.
  2. burnsy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    170
    Jul 10, 2011, 2:35 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #2

    Looks fantastic bro, love the weathering on the jumpsuit. Once the weathering is completed on the Flak it will look even better.

    You've already pointed out the main things to do above. What about your Toe-Spikes?
  3. saint_nasty's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,874
    Jul 10, 2011, 4:07 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #3

    there seems like an awful lot of space between the neck plate and the chest pieces.
  4. clonecollector's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,591
    Jul 10, 2011, 4:32 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #4

    Quote saint_nasty said: View Post
    there seems like an awful lot of space between the neck plate and the chest pieces.
    Lookin' good... the only thing I would suggest is the same thing and tighten up the armor a bit. Space it a bit more together. How have you fastened it on? Velcro? Bolts?
  5. WTFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    373
    Jul 10, 2011, 5:59 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #5

    Toe spikes will be put on the MOW boots when they come in. I bought the vest from a member off here and everything is affixed with snaps. Not sure how much I can tighten the pieces up and make sure the holes are still covered. Maybe the vest needs to be shorter and the armor all moved up more?
  6. Markus Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    168
    Jul 10, 2011, 6:50 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #6

    I don't know if it's just the lighting, but the boots look kinda clean to me. Mind you, I'm an ESB guy, and we do things a lot darker and dirtier, I think. While you're tightening up the knee elastics, looks like they could use a little extra dirt, too.
    Last edited by Markus Fett; Jul 10, 2011 at 7:08 PM.
  7. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,674
    Jul 10, 2011, 7:26 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #7

    Yeh the center of the boot should be almost black...and they do look clean because of that
  8. Triple-d's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    407
    Jul 10, 2011, 9:02 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #8

    Looks good bud!
  9. WTFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    373
    Jul 10, 2011, 9:08 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #9

    These were boots I got that are too small so I didn't do anything to them. When I get the MOWs I will weather them up right. And yes the knee elastics need to be grimier, will do the same to the thong when that goes on. Thanks for the comments

    Any ideas on the chest armor? I thought about moving the collar down, but then I don't want too much vest showing at the top under my neck..
  10. Mullreel's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,968
    Jul 10, 2011, 9:33 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #10

    sooo....what size are those boots, and do you have anything planned for them?


    any critique that I have has already been said. Overall that is a good looking Fett.
  11. BobaFiend's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    787
    Jul 10, 2011, 9:45 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #11

    I would just try to tighten up the chest and ab plate and not worry about the collar. The gap between chestplates and collar is a forgivable sin IMO because that's how it was worn in ESB Boba Fett Empire Strikes Back Costume - HD Screen Captures - The Dented Helmet Gallery (I realize this is ROTJ but the concept is still valid in my head )
  12. Dahone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    251
    Jul 11, 2011, 2:39 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #12

    IMO: The vest itself looks too long. By raising up all the armor closer to the collar and then having the vest taken in so that you have about an half inch at the bottom of the vest showing at the most.
    I also would like to know why the choice in the knee armor color.....looks much, much darker (and orange) than the shoulder bells.
    Other than that, I'd say you've got a great set up there.
  13. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Jul 11, 2011, 5:12 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #13

    Boba's vest is short... probably around the belly button on most people. Shorten up the vest and push the armor up and that should fix those issues.

    It also seems like the armor is too shiny. You may want to hit it with some Testor's Dullcote to kill the shine.

    Overall it's looking really good!
  14. WTFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    373
    Jul 12, 2011, 8:12 AM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #14

    I'll see if I can shorten the vest and re-install the armor without the snap holes showing. Worst case I just have to order a new vest. I guess in the reference pictures/build threads I was using the knees looked more orange than the shoulders but I could mist some yellow and black on them to bring them up, no biggie. Is the dullcote a testor's only product? I have a satin clear that I used on some other pieces if that would work. Thanks for the feedback!
  15. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,674
    Jul 12, 2011, 8:32 AM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #15

    matte clear not satin clear for that
  16. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,674
    Jul 31, 2011, 10:28 AM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #16

    Hows this coming along bud? Thats a good looking helmet BTW
  17. WTFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    373
    Jul 31, 2011, 12:04 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #17

    Haha, yeah it's a good bucket I ordered a new vest from LFSU so when that comes I'll weather it and mount the armor better. Haven't decided if I will stick with snaps or go with the grommet/bolt method.
  18. tekering's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    73
    Sep 22, 2011, 9:55 AM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #18

    Excellent weathering on the jumpsuit! It looks awfully loose on you, though. Maybe it's a little too big...?

    You still need to add the tube going up the left arm, right? It may just be the photos, but your tubing looks gold.
  19. WTFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    373
    Sep 22, 2011, 5:27 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #19

    Not sure which version has the gauntlet missile hose but the ROTJ caps I used didn't have it attached. Jumpsuit could be tailored and will be in the future, but for now it'll have to do Should have updated pics (knees, boots and chest armor) this weekend.
  20. Sep 22, 2011, 5:52 PM - #20

    Only the SE ROTJ has the hoses connected to the rocket on the left.
  21. Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    186
    Sep 22, 2011, 6:33 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #21

    Quote TxFett said: View Post
    Only the SE ROTJ has the hoses connected to the rocket on the left.
    I think that is only the promotional shots where it is attached.
    In the actual film, it doesn't have them attached (I could be wrong but I'll have to check).
  22. Sep 22, 2011, 7:34 PM - #22

    You're right Bill, I meant to make that distinction. That was my bad.
  23. Turtle's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    58
    Sep 22, 2011, 10:41 PM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #23

    Did anyone mention picking up a cape?
  24. WTFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    373
    Sep 23, 2011, 12:03 AM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #24

    I have one, just hadn't installed the studs yet so I didn't put it on. I've replaced the chest armor and will be fixing all that this weekend. Good catch though
  25. Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    186
    Sep 23, 2011, 12:07 AM - Re: Fett Test Fit.. Opinions? #25

    Quote TxFett said: View Post
    You're right Bill, I meant to make that distinction. That was my bad.
    Glad that is the case. I don't like the idea of having to attach a hose to my gauntlet rocket. It would just seem ridiculous.

Similar Threads

  1. Need feedback..Jetpack test fit
    By butterbean in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Jul 9, 2010, 4:18 PM
  2. Kroenen Part 2 Test Fit
    By Jarvis in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Aug 5, 2009, 9:03 PM
  3. my first test fit of my ESB Boba!!
    By Darth Voorhees in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: Jul 17, 2009, 10:18 PM
  4. 1st Jango test fit
    By td0488 in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Apr 1, 2007, 11:30 AM
  5. Got my vest from TK409, test fit with my test armor.
    By mobius in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Feb 20, 2004, 12:25 AM