Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

  1. #1
    Lady Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    Mississippi
    Posts
    101

    Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    So, I had every intention of making a WIP thread prior to C6. But as I'm sure everyone here is fully aware of, the best laid plans in costuming rarely happen as we hoped. I finished my armor parts just hours before leaving for c6 and I was still having technical difficulties the day of and wouldn't have been able to put it all together without help from TDH friends (thanks txfett!). Without further delay.....

    Breakdown of the parts:

    Helmet: Fettpride
    Chest/neck/back/shoulders/knees/cod/gauntlets: Fettpride
    Neckseal: BatNinja
    Flighsuit/Ankle Spats: Myself
    Gloves: Saint Nasty
    Cape: Crazy4bobafett
    Wookie Braids: Woodman
    Boba Boots: Myself
    ROTJ EE3: Sidewinder
    Ammo Belt: 99centTaco
    Shoulder Studs: Saint Nasty
    Toe Spikes: TxFett

    Most of the suit was completed by members of TDH, of which I can not thank everyone enough. I knew, however, I wanted to at least do the flightsuit myself. It was really important to me to have one part of the costume that I could finish entirely on my own. Although I must give credit to my mother (who will never read this thread lol), she is a much better seamstress than I am, and really helped guide me through it. I should add that I based my costume around a figurine I had found on the internet when I first began my journey for Boba Fett. On a side note you might notice the figurine is the same one also used by Kristen. We both based our costume unknowingly on the same concept. What can I say, great minds think alike

    For the flightsuit I knew I needed to find a pattern to expand upon. I ended up with these 2:
    Attachment 63351Attachment 63352
    picture-001-jpgpicture-004-jpg

    Of course, I used white cotton twill. I didn't take any progress pictures along the way, although I wish I had. It should be noted as well that I used the wizard of flight pattern for the ankle spats and I just created the pocket for the front of the pants based on the dimensions of the pants once they were completed. So the final product before the dye bath was this:

    picture-013-jpgpicture-014-jpg

    Attachment 63353Attachment 63354

    Please excuse the poor lighting and self picture, I couldn't help but throw on the outfit when my helmet came in and this ended up being the only picture I took before I did the dye bath.

    I used this tutorial for dying/weathering the flightsuit:
    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f20/b...-recipe-44355/

    I'm not sure what RIT dye boxes were purchased when he did this thread, but the boxes I bought were "concentrated" and I ended up having to double the amount of water after placing the dye powder in the water. Fortunately I used a 10 gallon trash can to mix the dye in so I was able to accommodate the 8 gallons it took to appropriately dilute the powder. I followed the directions exactly. The first picture is my test strip which I realized was much too dark, and the second test strip confirmed the color was much better.
    Attachment 63355Attachment 63356

    picture-032-jpgpicture-015-jpg

    The first picture shows immediately after the dye bath, and the second is after it had dried (although I was starting to dampen to prepare for weathering when I realized I needed to snap a quick picture.)

    picture-016-jpgpicture-017-jpg
    Attachment 63357Attachment 63358

    Again, I mixed the brown dye and applied the weathering using a spray bottle. The idea of having a flightsuit that was weathered thoroughly appealed to me. I looked at a couple of reference pictures but to be honest, I really just added dye where it made sense to me. Everything was pulled together last minute, so I really only had 1 day to weather, and was only able to apply to dye maybe 3 times total throughout the day. And here's the finished product, plus a close up of the pants:

    picture-018-jpgpicture-019-jpg

    Attachment 63359Attachment 63360

    What I learned from my first attempt at dying/weathering. Always use a test strip before you dye your desired part. Thankfully I did this part correctly. When it came to the weathering I feel like the spray bottle was just inconsistent with the "stream" if you will. There were several places that I felt the droplets were too large on the material and even though I thoroughly dampened my flight suit prior to, you can see where the dye did not distribute and ultimately just became round blotches in places. Also I wish I had more time to weather, the color has naturally lightened up and its more of a maroon color in places. Overall though I am pretty pleased with how the final product turned out, especially since I had never dyed anything before. I also forgot to mention I dyed the ankle spats a "taupe" color. I just added color to the water until I got a shade I was happy with.

    Onto the shoes! Although I based my costume on the figurine, I wanted my fett to be SE. So for some reason I decided that I wanted to get white shoes that I could modify but with a heel to give me a little more height. This is the pair that I bought. I found some leather cords used with making jewelry that I cut down and glued to the shoes to give them the black piping and ended up using acrylic paints in various grey and blacks that I mixed together. I tried to use a finish that was matte, but as you will see in the picture the shoes are still fairly reflective. In retrospect a light sanding probably would have helped with that and possibly even getting the paint to adhere better. I forgot to take a good after picture but you will be able to see in the full pictures at the end.
    picture-009-jpgpicture-010-jpgpicture-011-jpg

    Miscellaneous photos of the gear:

    picture-006-jpgpicture-007-jpgpicture-008-jpg

    Although I don't have any really great pictures of the cape itself, I did the weathering after receiving it from Christy. I took scissors to the bottom and just cut jaggedly in different directions, then came back and frayed the entire bottom by hand. I then went into my garage with a hammer and it several times with the head and used the back to tear holes in it. Afterwards I washed it once in the washing machine and hung it up to dry.

    For a WIP on the "hard parts" all painted by Deadland here are the links:

    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f25/d...tzybugz-45470/
    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f23/d...tzybugz-45471/

    And finally everything put together!!!!

    picture-020-jpgpicture-021-jpgpicture-022-jpg

    More photos from CVI and of course with some of the fine people from TDH
    picture-024-jpgpicture-023-jpgpicture-025-jpgpicture-026-jpgpicture-027-jpgpicture-028-jpgpicture-029-jpgpicture-034-jpg

    And last but certainly not least......Jeremy Bulloch!!! And yes he autographed the inside of my helmet and I'm pretty sure I was incoherent talking to him.
    picture-030-jpg

    Needless to say I had a blast! I learned so much through building this costume, more than any other costume I have done. It was definitely the biggest undertaking for sure. I am extremely proud of my first build. Although I am always looking for ways to improve my costume. I know of several things I already want to redo or upgrade. Please feel free to comment and help me with improving.

    Also, I wanted to say thanks to everyone at TDH who helped me with this build. It was def not something I could have done by myself! Putting my costume on for the first time, it was so much more than I could have ever imagined. I am so grateful.

    This was my first celebration to attend and I couldn't have had more fun. Everyone was so accepting and really made me feel like a part of TDH instantly. I can't wait to attend more conventions in the future and help with TDH of course

    <3 Katie

  2. #2
    Matty Matt's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2006
    From
    Limerick, PA
    Posts
    425

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Wow that came out great!

  3. #3
    RobaFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2011
    From
    Darwin River Northern Territory
    Posts
    302

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    well done, hope ya had a good time!

  4. #4
    DisposablHero's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2009
    From
    Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    205

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Great work, quality build! Absolutely awesome getting the pic with The One True Fett as well.

  5. #5
    superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Posts
    4,304

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Here's one I snapped.


  6. #6
    deadland's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2005
    From
    Murrieta CA
    Posts
    1,104

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Great write up Katie and boy did it all pull together nicely!!!! Job well done . Have fun at D Con and I should have your jet pack wrapped up by the end of next week!!! Love the pic with you and Jeremy!!

    Rob

  7. #7

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    I don't know....it's a nice costume but....meaby you need something to be complete.
    It seems that you are missing something...

  8. #8

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    oh, I know what she's missing!!! :P

    and look at the poor ESB Fett bringing up the rear.

  9. #9
    Lady Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    Mississippi
    Posts
    101

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Dark-Side said: View Post
    I don't know....it's a nice costume but....meaby you need something to be complete.
    It seems that you are missing something...
    oh how happy you make me! i miss you guys already! the constant headache I woke up with every morning after hanging out all night. I am not sure I can think normally without it now! I hope yall had as much fun as i did and yes I can think of something you can help me out with for sure! haha

  10. #10
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,315

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    deadland said: View Post
    Great write up Katie and boy did it all pull together nicely!!!! Job well done . Have fun at D Con and I should have your jet pack wrapped up by the end of next week!!! Love the pic with you and Jeremy!!

    Rob
    Im excited to see this! Was a little disapointed it wasnt in any pics...I was like oh no



    Katzybugz said: View Post
    oh how happy you make me! i miss you guys already! the constant headache I woke up with every morning after hanging out all night. I am not sure I can think normally without it now! I hope yall had as much fun as i did and yes I can think of something you can help me out with for sure! haha
    Katie this turned out great...good job!

  11. #11
    Scott Kaufmann's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Boerne, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,011

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Personally I prefer the shots of you with that other male SE Fett. I wish I had been able to help you initially attach the pieces so you would have a little better placement in some areas but I'll say that for it being a night time rushed job, you set it up nicely. Like you said, there is a few touch up areas to really make an amazing costume even better but you still finished out an amazing costume.

    I'll always say it, your passion and drive to do this costume the right way really shines through in the final product. I'm glad that I was able to be there for your geek out moments and I'm proud to have provided 1% of the help that went into this.

  12. #12
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,315

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    1% of the help haha...Scott you make me giggle. Seriously though, this did come out VERY nice. Heard a little Avenger action is in the works?

  13. #13
    AFettFullofDollars's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2004
    From
    Corbin, Ky
    Posts
    1,153

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    This thread is making me feel funny...like when I used to climb the rope in gym class...

    Well Done! That came out great!

  14. #14

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    was nice to see it in action and to meet you...enjoy your next con

  15. #15
    Lady Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    Mississippi
    Posts
    101

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Fett 4 Real said: View Post
    1% of the help haha...Scott you make me giggle. Seriously though, this did come out VERY nice. Heard a little Avenger action is in the works?
    haha i told him he could have 1.5% credit but he is trying to make sure I have the spotlight on this one I was seriously bracing myself for your critique, not that it wouldn't be appreciated but I know you pay attention to the small details and point out places for improvement. And yes I am going to be doing a female captain america! I have had the shield for a couple of months but thanks to Hillary I have found what design I'm going to base my costume on.
    female-captain-america-jpgshield-jpg
    Btw you should know i'm seriously girl crushing on your wife, she is so pretty and super cool! I'm so glad I got to meet her at C6! Just wished we could have hung out longer. I'm trying to convince her to cosplay with my Marvel idea! So we shall see! She will look good regardless of what she chooses!

    And a general thank you to all the sweet comments! It was a lot of hard work but totally worth it! I can't wait to take her to dragon con this weekend! even though my flight was cancelled I am still gonna make it there driving!

  16. #16

    Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Great job and I'll be looking to see you at DC!
    Quote Quote Posted from iOS app

  17. #17
    DW Design's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2003
    From
    Modesto, California, United States
    Posts
    811

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    It was a pleasure meeting you at the TDH dinner! Your suit looks great!
    Darren

  18. #18
    Lady Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    Mississippi
    Posts
    101

    Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Aw yay!! Make sure you come up and say hey at DC!!
    Quote Quote Posted from iOS app

  19. #19
    Scott Kaufmann's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Boerne, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,011

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Remember to call me before you suit up so I can walk you through some posing and suit up ideas I have.

  20. #20
    Lady Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    Mississippi
    Posts
    101

    Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Haha. Oh... I can't wait to hear the posing ideas.
    Quote Quote Posted from iOS app

  21. #21

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Was great to meet you Katie. Your fett turned out amazing. You should be very proud.
    PS love the accent! Reminded me of one Art Andrews..the prettier kind of course

  22. #22
    Scott Kaufmann's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Boerne, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,011

    Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    I don't know Spidey, that Art is rather dreamy.
    Quote Quote Posted from iOS app

  23. #23
    thebeans's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2012
    From
    Ireland
    Posts
    436

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Your costume is very well made and dare i say sexy! congrats on such a great build.

  24. #24

    Re: Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    You looked great. I never got a chance to meet you but we are friends on facebook. I got a pic of you and kristen that you got tagged in. Maybe I'll see ya at the next con.

  25. #25
    Lady Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    Mississippi
    Posts
    101

    Femme Fett goes to CVI (build review and pics from the con!)

    Alex!! Thanks for all the sweet compliments! You were so much fun yourself!! I wanted to talk to you at the tdh dinner but didn't have time! Also if I didn't say it before your paint job on kristen's armor and your fett helmet for make a wish were both spectacular! I hope we get to hang out again in the future!
    Quote Quote Posted from iOS app

Similar Threads

  1. A femme fett in the making
    By Lady Fett in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: Mar 29, 2013, 1:53 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2012, 12:58 PM
  3. Redtogusa's ESB Fett build.2nd Photo Shoot-many pics
    By Redtogusa in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: Oct 12, 2011, 9:45 AM
  4. Skaught's 5 y/o Boba Fett Build - FINISHED PICS!
    By Skaught in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Nov 4, 2009, 8:48 AM
  5. Emerald City Comic Con 08- ESB Fett troop- Pics
    By sithlord23 in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Jun 6, 2008, 6:27 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •