Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Evolutions boba boots review!

  1. #1
    formerly Woodman woodman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2008
    From
    LR,Arkansas
    Posts
    1,338

    Evolutions boba boots review!

    Got my new boots from Evolutions today and I wanted to post a
    review for everybody. The fit is great and as for size I wear an 11
    in some shoes and a 10 1/2 in others so I ordered an 11 and they fit
    just right. They are super light , great for trooping! The construction
    is top notch as well. It did take about six weeks to get them though
    but coming from South America that should be expected. All in all I would
    recommened them for the price!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails dscf0001-jpg  

  2. #2
    cojake's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2007
    From
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    497

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Those look better than the last pictures I have seen. How do they look durability wise? Will the stitching hold up to the rigors of trooping? Or will the soles last a decent amount of time? They look like they are just cloth with little or no reinforcement inside.

  3. #3
    dung0beetle's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2006
    From
    Texas
    Posts
    306

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    They appear to be assembled like sneakers. I'll bet they are just as durable, and I don't forsee anyone jumping around in puddles or mowing the lawn in these. The material looks like nylon (like what my kid's backpack is made of), so it should hold up to a fair bit of abuse.

  4. #4

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Don't mean to hijack, but Has anyone checked out Evolutions clone boots?
    http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/STAR-WARS-PRO...QQcmdZViewItem


    I have a pair of their Fetts on order now. I've had trouble finding anything to fit my clodhoppers for some time.

  5. #5
    Ciscotiger's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2007
    From
    Silicon Valley, CA USA
    Posts
    120

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Cool! Thx for the review, Woodman. I thought I'd give Evolution a try too, is the only one making them for now. Waited for a year to have someone on the TDH come through making these. Can't wait now to get them.

  6. #6
    formerly Woodman woodman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2008
    From
    LR,Arkansas
    Posts
    1,338

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    how dare you highjack my... just kidding LOL! the fabric is a multi-layer type of breathable stuff. When I said they were light boy did I mean it I would swear your
    socks weigh more! Plus if your short not to worry the soles are at least 1 1/2 or so thick!
    It's like wearing lifts ,not that I would know 5'9" isnt short is it? anyway I wouldnt try digging a ditch with them on but who does that in a pair of $115 shoes. $90 for the boots and $25 shipping. by the way he will combine shipping. also when I ordered I just sent a messege with my ebay and told him the size. Good luck my brothers!

  7. #7
    dung0beetle's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2006
    From
    Texas
    Posts
    306

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    woodman said: View Post
    anyway I wouldnt try digging a ditch with them on but who does that in a pair of $115 shoes.
    I do, but I own chainsaw boots (made to clog a chainsaw before it cuts your foot off) for clearing out land the old fashioned way. There's a thing here in Tx called "mile-a-minute weed", which is a thorny viny kind of thing that spreads all over everything. I get to clear that stuff out so the machinery can get thru.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pequmgt21Lw

  8. #8
    TehEl1te's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2008
    From
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,273

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Awesome woodman!!! Did you order Evo's toe spikes too??? I just ordered a pair of boots and gloves not too long ago... waitin on them

    El1te

  9. #9
    formerly Woodman woodman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2008
    From
    LR,Arkansas
    Posts
    1,338

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    no didnt get the toe spikes thought i'd try to make some myself but I did get some gloves too. I am going to post a seperate thread about them. P.S. they are great too!

  10. #10
    xfettx's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    From
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    541

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    I just ordered my evo boots with the changes. In 6 weeks we'll hopefully see how the changes look!

  11. #11
    Kwally89's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    From
    Iowa
    Posts
    685

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    xfettx said: View Post
    I just ordered my evo boots with the changes. In 6 weeks we'll hopefully see how the changes look!

    Did he send you pictures of the changes?? I've been working with him quite a bit over the last month or two, and last week he said they weren't in yet because the workshop has been slow. I'd love to see some pictures if you have some.

    Kody

  12. #12
    xfettx's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    From
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    541

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Nope no pictures. Just kind of doing it out of blind faith.

  13. #13
    Kwally89's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    From
    Iowa
    Posts
    685

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    xfettx said: View Post
    Nope no pictures. Just kind of doing it out of blind faith.
    Well I'm sure they'll look good either way.

    Kody

  14. #14
    CGClone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2005
    From
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    556

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Those clone boots look hideous, completely inaccurate.

  15. #15
    jwinnington's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    From
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    81

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    I finally got mine in. Took three weeks and no fault to EVO. He shipped them out on the 13th and I got them on may 6th. They are light and very comfortable. It will take a little time to fully break them in sole wise. No pix yet as I want to weather them first. I am happy with them though.

  16. #16
    FANGS's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2003
    From
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    237

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    I ordered their toe spikes as they had to custom make my boots (men's size 5). The other toe spikes I had were far too wide across the middle and there was no fixing that. Evolution was kind enough to make a pair that specifically fit my little boots.....that the other guys in my Garrison are referring to as poorly fit gloves..... hahahahaha

  17. #17
    TehEl1te's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2008
    From
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,273

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Mine were shipped out today. I can't wait to get em!

    El1te

  18. #18
    peanutbutterstrangle's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    From
    Long Island
    Posts
    73

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    I've got these boots. I'll agree they're shnazzy! I recommend them as well.

  19. #19
    TehEl1te's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2008
    From
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,273

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    I got mine too and weathered them up... They are very comfy... I was concerned with ordering a size 13 but they got it right on. Now the only test left is the durability of a troop

    El1te

  20. #20
    I helped at SDCC '08 TK-Devo's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2005
    From
    Phoenix Arizona
    Posts
    500

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Alright now that i've been suckered into doing a fett, where do these boots come from?

  21. #21

    Member Since
    May 2009
    From
    uk
    Posts
    30

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    i have a pair of them they are very comfatable

  22. #22

    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    From
    St. Pete, FL
    Posts
    148

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Has anyone else had problems ordering these boots? I place an order on April 23rd, six weeks ago, and nothing has arrived. I've opened a Paypal dispute so hopefully that will light a fire.

    Scott

  23. #23
    Ciscotiger's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2007
    From
    Silicon Valley, CA USA
    Posts
    120

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    Skaught said: View Post
    Has anyone else had problems ordering these boots? I place an order on April 23rd, six weeks ago, and nothing has arrived. I've opened a Paypal dispute so hopefully that will light a fire.

    Scott
    Scott,

    Evolution is pretty reliable, but it does take awhile for shipping going through customs. It took about a little over a month to get mine, so I would keep the faith, it should arrive any time. Keep the faith, I bought from Evolution a couple of times and know he's trustworthy.

  24. #24
    cojake's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2007
    From
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    497

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    My order for some collar studs took almost 8 weeks with no communication. They did arrive though.

  25. #25
    xfettx's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    From
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    541

    Re: Evolutions boba boots review!

    yea it's sometimes hard to get ahold of them. But if you use the email on their ebay page you'll get a reply back fast. longest it's taken them to reply to me is a day if I use that email. I've been waiting for at least 6 weeks for my boots. The place that makes them screwed up and made regular boba boots without the changes but I just got word that they should be done by the beginning of next week then they will ship them. cant wait!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2012, 12:58 PM
  2. WIP: Weathering my Evolutions Boots
    By Ponte in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Sep 12, 2009, 6:14 PM
  3. **REVIEW** New Evolution Boots on eBay
    By ShocKNurse in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 78
    Last Post: Aug 7, 2009, 3:10 PM
  4. Evolutions Boba Fett glove review!
    By woodman in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Apr 25, 2009, 12:49 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •