ESB gauntlets-- opinions please

  1. #1

    ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    I know there are some problems, but I bought them glued together already.
    it's my paintjob though


  2. #2
    RBF's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2005
    From
    Same planet as you, in a country that is below sea-level... the Nether-realm.. Oh wait.. Netherlands
    Posts
    2,173

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    looks good to me, though personally I'd beat em up a little with more weathering, but thats just me.

    there are some pretty good ESB pics out there, contact guys like Jango_Fett_Jr or Jango's Kid or DL-44 blaster, theyre the masters when it comes to ESB Fett, so you might be able to get around 80% accurate weathering.

  3. #3

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    I can't see them

  4. #4
    Jango_Fett_Jr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2002
    From
    St. Catharines, ON
    Posts
    1,957

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Looking good so far! I definitely suggest adding some black 'grime' to it, the originals seemed to have a fair bit of that. Also do a little black wash to give it an overall used look.

    D'oh! Just noticed the flamthrower mount (the piece behind the flamethrower) is upside down! If you can unglue them then definitely fix that, and move it up a couple inches so you can do the red, blackm and white wires.

  5. #5
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Yup, I'd just add the black grimey look and the colored wires (if you can move the flame thrower).

    Looks great!

  6. #6
    cal196's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    From
    Earth
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    That looks great I think the flash bleached out alot of weathering.

    here ya go Chuck,

  7. #7

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Yeah,
    The flash did bleach it some, But it does nedd a black wash.
    I was afraid to "over weather " them
    The backplate (flamethrower)is glued on better than anything that I have ever glued.
    I tried prying it off, but started tearing up the gauntlet.So I left it alone.
    I can't put the wires on either. No room after the great glue job.
    Thanx for the honesty guys.

  8. #8
    xaoslord's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2005
    From
    Hitchins, KY (Don't feel bad...no one else has heard of it either...)
    Posts
    636

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Can you tell what kind of glue was used? Depending on what was used, you may have some options.

  9. #9

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Thanks Darrin,

    Nathan, gauntlets are looking good, I would do the blackwash as well. Here's some pics of mine. For the black scuff marks I used a black crayon, drew on where I wanted it, then took my finger and blended it in some.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails right-jpg   left-jpg  

  10. #10
    RBF's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2005
    From
    Same planet as you, in a country that is below sea-level... the Nether-realm.. Oh wait.. Netherlands
    Posts
    2,173

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    heres myn... what it was atleast... the elictrical wires (wich cant be foudn in the correct colours anymore, because those are teh colours of wiring used 20 years ago...atleast here in the netehrlands) dont have to be glued on or anything, all you need is a small dremmel drill the correct diameter of the wiring and just plunge them in the back of the flamethrower (after drillin small holes init), then make the same holes in the gaunt shell and braid them together behind those... worked for me...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails dscn1361-small-jpg  

  11. #11

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    slave1pilot said:
    I know there are some problems, but I bought them glued together already.
    it's my paintjob though
    Looks Pretty Sweet to me...nice paint Job.

  12. #12

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    R_boba_fett said:
    heres myn... what it was atleast... the elictrical wires (wich cant be foudn in the correct colours anymore, because those are teh colours of wiring used 20 years ago...atleast here in the netehrlands) dont have to be glued on or anything, all you need is a small dremmel drill the correct diameter of the wiring and just plunge them in the back of the flamethrower (after drillin small holes init), then make the same holes in the gaunt shell and braid them together behind those... worked for me...

    LOL
    I know HOW to do it, I just don't have room .
    The flamethrower is glued way to far back to put any wires.

    Here's some updated pics
    after the black wash & adding switches.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails fettt-esb-gaunts-006-jpg   fettt-esb-gaunts-008-jpg   fettt-esb-gaunts-012-jpg  


  13. #13
    RBF's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2005
    From
    Same planet as you, in a country that is below sea-level... the Nether-realm.. Oh wait.. Netherlands
    Posts
    2,173

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    well whatever...


    looking good mate!!

  14. #14
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Nice black wash... they look MUCH better! Great work!

  15. #15
    SEEKER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    From
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,362

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Once again very nice. So what's the green everyone is using for these guantlets?

  16. #16

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    I used
    Rust-oleum Satin
    Spruce Green 7737
    black mist & dullcote

  17. #17

    Member Since
    Feb 2005
    From
    Glasgow, Scotland. :(
    Posts
    238

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    :|


    Wish you'd told me that the flamethrower backplate was upside down before I bought these gauntlets from you, dude...

  18. #18
    I helped at SDCC '08 Gonzo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2005
    From
    Fear and Loathing in a Galaxy farther...away...
    Posts
    988

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    oh man.....thats not cool.

  19. #19

    Member Since
    Feb 2005
    From
    Glasgow, Scotland. :(
    Posts
    238

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Had to remove it using harshness!
    S'gonna be a bugger to patch

    I'd still probably have bought the gauntlets - It's just annoying me that S1P knew about the issue, but never mentioned it... Told me that there were some small cracks that just added to the weathered effect, but never said how they got there.

  20. #20

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Rev,

    my apologies.
    I thought I had told you, or that you had been following this thread .
    I did not intentionally try to deceive you.
    If you are unsatisfied please feel free to let me know what I can do to make it right.

  21. #21

    Member Since
    Feb 2005
    From
    Glasgow, Scotland. :(
    Posts
    238

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Nah, this thread had dropped by the time I was buying the gauntlets - I had no idea until I was looking for reference pics to have an alu flamethrower made and stumbled across it.

    Apology accepted... There's not much to be done anyway, unless you happen to have another gauntlet shell lying around
    I'm just gonna have to bite the bullet and try to reinforce the inside of that gaunt as much as possible, and rebuild that side wall where the styrene's ripped away.

  22. #22

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    I'll check around.
    Maybe somebody will have one.

  23. #23

    Member Since
    Feb 2005
    From
    Glasgow, Scotland. :(
    Posts
    238

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    Wow. Thanks!

  24. #24

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    See, I would have never known if anything was upside down, lol. Hell, I still cant tell.

  25. #25

    Member Since
    Feb 2005
    From
    Glasgow, Scotland. :(
    Posts
    238

    Re: ESB gaunts-- opinions please

    It's the shaped black plate behind the flamethrower. It's too far back, and the wrong way up.
    Well, it WAS

Similar Threads

  1. Evolution Gauntlets - opinions sought
    By Shabazz Jenkins in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Dec 15, 2009, 12:30 PM
  2. Can I get some opinions on this please?
    By bradbucholtz in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Feb 23, 2008, 5:44 PM
  3. Looking for Opinions
    By mandosoldier in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Sep 19, 2007, 11:54 AM
  4. Opinions Wanted on Gauntlets on eBay
    By maj. hassel in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Aug 30, 2007, 11:08 PM
  5. Your opinions, please...
    By jarodpenn in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Dec 6, 2004, 10:04 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •