Chest Display Programming?

  1. #1
    FANGS's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2003
    From
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    237

    Chest Display Programming?

    Okay...likely stupid question but I don't know where else to ask. I have a friend who is doing the electronics for me for the chest display. I thought I was so smart by having the "blueprints" all printed off for him (the ones that were so kindly posted by Shackman I believe). But....he just called and asked if I realized that it's supposed to have some sort of programming. He said that's no big deal because he can do it, but he needs some sort of code. Code, I say?? Good grief.

    Now...perhaps he's mistaken or worse, doesn't know what he's talking about. And...perhaps since I've read lots here and have seen that these are being sold it's a question I really shouldn't be asking. BUT.....there's only one way to find out and that's to just ask. So if I'm stepping on any toes, I sincerely apologize. But if someone is able to give me the answer, I would greatly appreciate the assistance!

  2. #2
    asok's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2002
    From
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,704

    Re: Chest Display Programming?

    Is this what you are wanting? http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/bbt/index.htm

  3. #3
    FANGS's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2003
    From
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    237

    Re: Chest Display Programming?

    Well...that's where I got my initial information and the blueprints from. But my friend is telling me there is a little bit of information missing from that.

  4. #4

    Re: Chest Display Programming?

    No toes being stepped on, so long as they don't get sold based on my plans. I posted them for anyone who wanted to build their own (or in your case, have someone do it for you).

    Now for the bad news, as your friend pointed out, there IS code needed. The reason the circuit looks so simple is because the sequencing is all controlled by a microcontroller ... in simple terms, a computer on a chip. As for not being a big deal, I'll assume your friend meant the hardware (ie, wiring). The code IS the big deal. Not impossible to do ... but if you don't know PIC programming (BASIC or assembly), or have a programmer to burn your chips, it's a pretty major hurdle.

    I don't have any extra micros on-hand, but can order more. If your friend wants to tackle the circuit assembly, and you'd like to just buy a programmed chip from me, I have sold a few to other DIYers. The cost for the programmed micro is $13, shipping included. If nothing else, this saves you the weeks it can take to develop new code, not to mention having to buy a programmer and the micro itself.

    Good luck, and hopefully it all works out for ya. Let me know how the circuit turns out. I've only heard back from a couple of people who have actually built their own, and wouldn't mind hearing about others.

    ATM
    ShackMan



    BFett333 wrote:

    Okay...likely stupid question but I don't know where else to ask. I have a friend who is doing the electronics for me for the chest display. I thought I was so smart by having the "blueprints" all printed off for him (the ones that were so kindly posted by Shackman I believe). But....he just called and asked if I realized that it's supposed to have some sort of programming. He said that's no big deal because he can do it, but he needs some sort of code. Code, I say?? Good grief.

    Now...perhaps he's mistaken or worse, doesn't know what he's talking about. And...perhaps since I've read lots here and have seen that these are being sold it's a question I really shouldn't be asking. BUT.....there's only one way to find out and that's to just ask. So if I'm stepping on any toes, I sincerely apologize. But if someone is able to give me the answer, I would greatly appreciate the assistance!

  5. #5
    FANGS's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2003
    From
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    237

    Re: Chest Display Programming?

    Thanks for getting back to me, Shackman. My friend who can build the board has someone at work that can do the programming. But I'm guessing it's the code that you don't want to give up and I respect that. I'll likely eventually order the chip from you but since it won't be up here in Canada in time for Halloween this year there isn't much of a hurry. Thanks for your help.

Similar Threads

  1. chest display
    By stormshadow2100 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jan 10, 2009, 9:04 PM
  2. Advice wanted for chest display to BM chest armor
    By Flettch in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Aug 24, 2008, 1:33 PM
  3. my chest display
    By vadr_h8r in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 15, 2008, 1:01 PM
  4. Chest Display
    By OrtharRrith in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Dec 21, 2007, 2:43 PM
  5. Chest Display
    By MediaGuyPJ in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Mar 14, 2006, 3:27 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •