Subscribe
  1. Member Since
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    39
    Jul 25, 2009, 9:56 AM - Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #1

    As most of you may know, I am scratch building my ESB Boba right now. I love the colors from the ESB, but I detest the visible flame thrower. I like the flame thrower box from ROTJ. Do you think it would be a Fett faux pas to add the flame thrower box and paint the gauntlets the ESB green? I would appreciate your opinion.
  2. Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,517
    Jul 25, 2009, 10:28 AM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #2

    I wouldn't, but hey, its your suit man...do what you like the best. However, if you are going for 501st membership, your GML might not let you by without the correct flamethrower for the correct version of the suit. Other than that, if you like the box version better, do it that way!!!
  3. Member Since
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    39
    Jul 26, 2009, 10:30 PM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #3

    Hmm that may put a damper on things Does anyone sell a resin flame thrower for a reasonable price here? Ebay had one for $100.00 which was ridiculous, considering it probably costs about 10 dollars to make.
  4. SlabFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    217
    Jul 26, 2009, 10:41 PM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #4

    Send a PM to Man of War Studios or FettPride. They both make nice ones and I doubt they will charge $100 for it.
  5. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Jul 27, 2009, 12:25 PM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #5

    was the one on ebay metal or resin? if metal, $100 is a perfectly reasonable price.
  6. Ogait-Nas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    388
    Jul 28, 2009, 4:32 AM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #6

    As Jango's kid said, if you want to apply to the 501st you need to have the ESB flamethrower... however you could make some system to exchange the flamethrowers. So, when you need go trooping with the 501st you can put the ESB FT, but when you're with your friends, in a non 501st event you can choose the ROTJ FT.
    I would go for some kind of screwing system. I hope it helps.
  7. CombatBaby's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,336
    Jul 28, 2009, 2:20 PM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #7

    Quote Jango's kid said: View Post
    I wouldn't, but hey, its your suit man...do what you like the best. However, if you are going for 501st membership, your GML might not let you by without the correct flamethrower for the correct version of the suit. Other than that, if you like the box version better, do it that way!!!
    x2


    anyways... a good price for a resin one would be $40-50, aluminum somewhere between $100-150

    at least, those are good deals. They could be more or less.

    As far as your "cost ten dollars to make" comment. Maybe to make that one...but if someone sculpted something, invested in the mold, they're going to charge more to get money back.... YES $100 may be ridiculous for a resin one...as that instantly passes most of the cost over to you... but that's just how the hobby works.. No one really does charity...except Seven. who rocks I might add


    I would contact Man of war if you're not looking to spend that much, I'm sure he could hook you up with one under $60.
  8. Member Since
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    39
    Jul 28, 2009, 10:50 PM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #8

    Quote CombatBaby said: View Post
    x2


    anyways... a good price for a resin one would be $40-50, aluminum somewhere between $100-150

    at least, those are good deals. They could be more or less.

    As far as your "cost ten dollars to make" comment. Maybe to make that one...but if someone sculpted something, invested in the mold, they're going to charge more to get money back.... YES $100 may be ridiculous for a resin one...as that instantly passes most of the cost over to you... but that's just how the hobby works.. No one really does charity...except Seven. who rocks I might add


    I would contact Man of war if you're not looking to spend that much, I'm sure he could hook you up with one under $60.
    I understand that no one does charity, but I feel that in a community like this there shouldn't be any profiteering. Just my two cents.
  9. Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,517
    Jul 29, 2009, 12:47 AM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #9

    You have alot to learn young padawan!!!
  10. Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,517
    Jul 29, 2009, 1:12 AM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #10

    Quote Thellmann said: View Post
    I understand that no one does charity, but I feel that in a community like this there shouldn't be any profiteering. Just my two cents.
    BTW: Do you undersatnd how much time, effort, and material costs go into producing some of these parts?????????????? Believe me, nobody is making any extra bucks around here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  11. Member Since
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    39
    Jul 29, 2009, 2:54 AM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #11

    Quote Jango's kid said: View Post
    BTW: Do you undersatnd how much time, effort, and material costs go into producing some of these parts?????????????? Believe me, nobody is making any extra bucks around here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I do understand how much work goes into this hobby. But I'm sorry, but I feel that there is profiteering going on. You can argue as much as you want but that is my opinion. I know that if I was to sell armor, I would charge for the materials and shipping and not add an extra 50 dollars to it. I would only offer these prices to this community because we are supposed to be a community. But I don't want this to turn into a flame war, so if there are any other aggressive or argumentative replies they will be ignored.
  12. Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,517
    Jul 29, 2009, 10:34 AM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #12

    [QUOTE=Thellmann;446393] You can argue as much as you want but that is my opinion.[QUOTE]

    Fair enough
  13. KaanE is offline KaanE
    Jul 29, 2009, 10:55 AM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #13

    If you think your time is not worth, then what's worth here?

    Just my 0.02$
  14. Member Since
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    39
    Jul 29, 2009, 12:56 PM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #14

    Quote KaanE said: View Post
    If you think your time is not worth, then what's worth here?

    Just my 0.02$
    I'm sorry, but I don't understand your question.
  15. Shinobi_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    451
    Jul 29, 2009, 2:58 PM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #15

    KannE was saying that people don't simply crank up prices because they're greedy, they approximate a value based on their toil and artistic effort in creating a piece of art. Time = Money, as they say.

    That being said, what exactly is wrong with someone making a profit on their hard work? As most people have said, that small margin of "extra" usually goes back into making new pieces. Who benefits from that? EVERYONE.
  16. Gilmortar's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,747
    Jul 29, 2009, 3:29 PM - Re: Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets? #16

    I am one that will argue some makers DO add quite a bit for their "toiling" and "artistic effort".

    But Thellmann, as someone who has created runs, and sculpted, cast and produced items, the materials are BUTT EXPENSIVE! for a part that I charged 8 dollars for...I went in the hole, because I didn't charge more than what the part was worth. So granted, for an 80 dollar gallon kit of Resin, I made them 8 bucks a piece, but didn't factor in the silicone costs, which was bout 150 bucks worth of silicone... or the bad/warped casts that occured, so I had to get ANOTHER 80 dollar gallon resin kit. I mean, they really do add up, so I should have charged about 25 bucks a part instead of the 8, just for the sheer fact I could recoup my losses.

    Yeah, the community appreciates it...but my bank account and the ability to pay bills appreciates it alot more if I recoup all the funds.

Similar Threads

  1. I need your opinion Guys
    By Lokan in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Jun 21, 2009, 12:32 PM
  2. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 7:37 PM
  3. Can I get an opinion on these gauntlets
    By Darth Paul in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: May 6, 2008, 2:19 PM
  4. I need an opinion
    By recklessabandon in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 1, 2008, 7:00 PM
  5. need opinion one or two
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2006, 12:31 PM