Subscribe
  1. Darth Paul's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    181
    Apr 29, 2008, 3:39 PM - Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #1

    Hi guys,

    I bought these gauntlets just over a year ago and I don't know, I just don't know if I'm happy with them. I was told they were Ruffkins but I'm not sure.

    They were about the first thing I bought, and I know they need work on the darts etc, but can anyone with a good eye for detail check out these pics and offer ANY kind of opinion??

    Right gaunt:







    Left gaunt:









    So what do you think guys? Don't be scared to offend!!!
    If anyone wants to see more detailed pics just let me know.


    Thanks a LOT for your views!! :thumbup


    Pauly
  2. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Apr 29, 2008, 3:46 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #2

    those don't look like the ruffkin gauntlets i used to have. dunno if those are older or newer, but they are definitely different. rocket is softer, hose connectors different, etc...
  3. BobaFett07's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    38
    Apr 29, 2008, 3:54 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #3

    The flamethrower nozzles look long and I thought that the hose connectors, both come out of the same spot, not one out the bottom?
  4. Darth Paul's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    181
    Apr 29, 2008, 4:02 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #4

    Thanks for the input Brian, thats what I'm looking for!!
    Please dont be scared to say if they're good/bad/whatever!

    BobaFett007: Yeah I think the flamethrower nozzles are wrong, not sure on the hose connectors, maybe someone else can shed some light...?


    If anyone can ID these gauntlets I'd be extremely grateful!!



    Feel free to chip in guys, I wanna know what you all think of these...?



    Thanks,

    Pauly
    Last edited by Darth Paul; Apr 29, 2008 at 5:34 PM. Reason: No such word as sont
  5. Darasuum_Verd's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    572
    Apr 29, 2008, 5:28 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #5

    Man, those suck. Send them over to me and I'll take care of them!

    Just kidding mate, those look good. I'm not sure of their maker, however.

    -Naas
  6. I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,520
    Apr 29, 2008, 8:14 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #6

    I believe that they are BradleyFett gauntlets.
  7. SOLOCHASER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    343
    Apr 29, 2008, 10:13 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #7

    Well not to sound mean, but it could use a new paint job and maybe a new rocket for the left gaunt. The rocket detail to me is too soft. I saw someone here offering a good rocket not too long ago. The darts should be replaced(but you mentioned that already). Just my two cents, please don't be offended.
  8. Apr 29, 2008, 10:57 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #8

    they look a little small to me... and i have to agree about the rocket, its just not right. but for the most part, they dont look half bad to me.
  9. Ruffkintoy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    457
    Apr 29, 2008, 11:25 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #9

    Definately not mine, They look kind of like RA's but not positive.
  10. Darth Paul's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    181
    Apr 30, 2008, 8:08 AM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #10

    Quote Darasuum_Verd said: View Post
    Man, those suck. Send them over to me and I'll take care of them!
    Naas: You frightened the life out of me there bro!!!
    Thanks for the compliment though!!

    Solochaser: No offence caused mate, this is exactly what I was after. All criticism is constructive!!!

    Honestly guys! Be as brutal as you like!! I want to make my gauntlets as authentic as possible!!!

    Frerr: I'm fairly sure they're the right size, I guess my hands are deceptively large!!
    If you/anyone wants to see photos of them on my forearms, let me know!!

    Ruffkin: Thanks for chipping in mate! Who/what is RA?

    Thanks everyone for your opinions. I'm actually starting to feel good about my gauntlets now!!


    Keep them coming!!!!

    Pauly
  11. asok's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    2,707
    Apr 30, 2008, 8:45 AM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #11

    Pauly,
    I would get a new rocket here http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=25321
    I own 2 of them and they are great! Light, lots of detail, and cheap.
  12. BOBA PHAT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    607
    Apr 30, 2008, 9:51 AM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #12

    Quote Darth Paul said: View Post
    Who/what is RA?
    That would be Richie's Armor. http://www.richiesarmor.com/
    It looks like you have a RA Boba left gaunt, and a RA Jango right gaunt.
  13. Darth Paul's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    181
    Apr 30, 2008, 7:12 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #13

    Thanks for the heads up Asok! I like that word - cheap!
    You too B P, thanks for letting me know!!

    It puzzles me though, who would buy a Boba left gaunt and a Jango right?

    Yeah, apart from me!!! I mean, someone must've bought these in the first place, before selling them to me...
    Why would they not go ALL Boba or ALL Jango...?


    So basically I need to upgrade the rocket/darts/flamethrower and repaint, and I'm good to go??


    Might be a little while!!
  14. BOBA PHAT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    607
    May 1, 2008, 9:08 AM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #14

    Quote Darth Paul said: View Post
    It puzzles me though, who would buy a Boba left gaunt and a Jango right?
    Go take a look at Richie's right Boba gaunt! I'd take the Jango version too.
  15. Darth Paul's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    181
    May 1, 2008, 11:39 AM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #15

    Oh yeah.

    Good point well made Boba Phat!!

    I've got one more question, but 'm at work right now, will come back when I'm home and can post a picture.



    Pauly
  16. KoRn3000's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    315
    May 1, 2008, 12:42 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #16

    I noticed that the dental expander on the left gauntlet is in the open position, it should be in the closed position.
    -Morten-
  17. Boba Luke's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42
    May 2, 2008, 2:32 AM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #17

    Man , they look great ! Why does it matter if the flamethrower nozzle looks longer than normal.
  18. Darth Paul's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    181
    May 4, 2008, 6:44 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #18

    Quote KoRn3000 said: View Post
    I noticed that the dental expander on the left gauntlet is in the open position, it should be in the closed position.
    -Morten-
    Wow Morten! How many others would have spotted that!!! 8)

    And thanks for the compliment Boba Luke!!!

    My question was,


    I need to replace this bit. I'm not sure what its called but does anyone know where I can get an accurate one? Preferably in the UK?


    Thanks guys!!!
  19. Darth Paul's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    181
    May 6, 2008, 12:29 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #19

    Anyone??
  20. KoRn3000's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    315
    May 6, 2008, 2:03 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #20

    Try Bobamaker.
    I know that he has been working on a pair of gauntlets. And.. He lives in the U.K.
    -Morten-
  21. CombatBaby's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,334
    May 6, 2008, 2:19 PM - Re: Can I get an opinion on these gaunts #21

    looks like richies armor to me guys....

    gauntlet rocket is the pretty sure sign.

Similar Threads

  1. Can I get your opinion about the gauntlets?
    By Thellmann in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Jul 29, 2009, 3:29 PM
  2. I need your opinion Guys
    By Lokan in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Jun 21, 2009, 12:32 PM
  3. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 7:37 PM
  4. I need an opinion
    By recklessabandon in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 1, 2008, 7:00 PM
  5. need opinion one or two
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2006, 12:31 PM