BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

  1. #1

    BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    I recently purchased and received a BooBoo Fett (BBF) SE Ammo Belt (serial number 0003) and was totally blown away by the workmanship and quality of materials. About two months ago, I upgraded to the Taco ROTJ belt (most recent run), but when I saw to pics of Terry's belt, I thought "I really need to check that belt out." My main motivation was to change from an ROTJ to an ROTJ SE ammo belt. When you are 6' 3" and have a 40" waist, the extra pouches on the SE version (12 count) allow the pouches to wrap around your waist whereas the ROTJ version (8 count) tends to look like a change purse for us XL folks. You really skinny people don't have to worry about this.

    The BBF belt is a Ferrari. The pictures of the BBF are amazing, but the feel of the belt is what really gets you going. The first thing I noticed when I took the BBF belt out of the box was the weight. It feels heavy in a good way. All you alpha males (yes, that includes me) that love the MR blaster because of the weight and the way it feels; you don't need to read any further, just order a belt today. It's right up your ally. The actual belt is HEAVY duty solid leather strapping. Go to the store, look for the thickest belt you can find and know that the BBF belt will be at least that thick.

    The next thing I noticed that was different about the BBF belt was the pouches were all functional and extremely rigid. Due to the thickness of the leather, the pouches require no support material to help then maintain there shape. For belts with non-functional pouches, they have wooden blocks or other materials that give the pouches their shape, but not the BBF belt. Concealed rivots and thick leather are used to form the pouches while allowing them to be functional. Let me say that again, stitches, rivots, and solid thick leather. These are not glued together around a forming material. The belt has that feel of something that is rugged and built for abuse, as opposed to that costume prop feel. You feel like you could go hunting in one of these belts without damaging it. Additionally, the leather coloring has a very deep, rich look. A noticeable difference from other belts (I got the weathered version).

    Finally, the attention to detail is remarkable. I noticed that a couple of the pouch flaps were slightly shorter than the adjacent pouch flap creating a slightly uneven and non-uniform look. I pulled up the reference photo and sure enough that is the exact look on the exact pouch position. I nearly fell out of my chair on that one. Could be a savant. Weathering is similarly accurate. Another thing I loved, similar to many top parts makers, was the branding. The inside of each pouch has the "BBF" logo impressed into the leather. Belt will have a serial number impressed which for whatever reason, I think is really cool.

    And last but not least, the customer service and production speed were unparalleled. I received my belt in a week and ahead of the commitment. I did not know Terry from Adam, but similar to many of the top parts makers on TDH, I always felt like I was getting special treatment.

    I suspect that for many, the price may be an issue. When your belt arrives, you will know where your money was spent. It all went into the materials and craftsmanship. This is high end stuff that I put in the same category as BM, FP, WB. You get what you pay for. This belt will last forever.
    Last edited by Astro Builder; Nov 29, 2009 at 12:57 PM.

  2. #2
    dsonik1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    From
    Pocatello, Idaho
    Posts
    1,492

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    awesome review, vod! Makes me want one that much more than I already did.

  3. #3
    BooBoo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    From
    North Hollywood, California, United States
    Posts
    1,574

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    Awww shucks

    Thanks for the great review. I'm sincerely happy that you are totally satified !!!

    BBF

  4. #4

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    Thanks for the great review.

    I'm glad I ordered mine

  5. #5

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    I recieved mine today and all I have to say is, that this is a part that I will never part with.

    Often when it comes to props I think ok, someday in the future u better replace an item with a more accurate one. Looking at this belt, this will never be the case.

    Look: *****
    Feel: *****
    Craftsmanship:*****

    This is sturdy leather, incredibly well crafted together. Since I'm a german native speaker I don't have the right words or terms to describe how satisfied I am with this product.

    BooBoo: THANK YOU SO MUCH!

    I recommend this belt to ANYONE.

  6. #6
    PEEL1965's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2009
    From
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    435

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    I third all of the above. Highly recommended in all aspects....Order yours now if you're hesitating....You will not regret it...

  7. #7
    Shabazz Jenkins's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    From
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    82

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    Just got home to my ESB BooBooFett Ammo Belt waiting for me on the porch.

    First things first: it is 12/16. I ordered this sucker ONLY 5 DAYS AGO!!! WOW!~ That is service! Order taken, belt built and shipped to me in 5 days. What more can you ask for?!?!?!

    This thing is awesome, guys. See the comments above? I heartily and wholly agree with every word of it. The quality of this belt is beyond the expectations that the above reviews had already set. This is a real, nice, true leather belt that is constructed so well that it holds its rigid shape without the necessity of wood or other filler in the pouches.

    The detail on this thing is amazing, as well. You will not find a nicer, more quality Fett prop out there. You get what you pay for in this hobby - as we all know - and this one is worth every penny.

  8. #8
    Infantryquinn's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2009
    From
    Hohenfels, Germany
    Posts
    15

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    I recieved my ESB Boba Fett belt from BBF the other day. This is my first go at a Boba build and I don't have that much experience with any other maker of these belts but WOW. The craftmanship of this belt is amazing! The genuine leather and the functional pouches make it 2nd to none. This is and awesome belt and I highly recommend anyone, either first time Boba builders like myself or someone looking to update their costume, this is the belt to get!

  9. #9
    dsonik1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    From
    Pocatello, Idaho
    Posts
    1,492

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    Yeah, yeah, yeah. Doesnt hold a candle to my Rubies supreme. Now if you want a belt that will "Wooo" the fans, Rubies is a must. Besides, what kinda name is Boo Boo, anyway?




  10. #10
    BooBoo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    From
    North Hollywood, California, United States
    Posts
    1,574

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    ......
    Last edited by BooBoo Fett; Jan 22, 2010 at 5:08 PM.

  11. #11
    xsinj's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    From
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    14

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    WOW...WOW...WOW...just received my ESB Belt! Simply stunning, an amazing job! It should also be said that the customer service and shipping were all first rate. Thanks again!

  12. #12
    Dead Eye's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2008
    From
    Ocala, FL,
    Posts
    77

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    thanks for the review. looking into getting a belt over making one myself and this is a good write up on buying. the only thing I would need is to see if he would do it in the gray for Jodo Kast's belt. either way the only hold up for me is price but they seem to be worth it.

  13. #13
    darth z's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    From
    shanghai, china
    Posts
    349

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    Wow, that is really a fantastic review of the belt, i have just started my project of the ROTJ Fett and definitely want this belt now !!! BooBoo Fett, can you PM me some detailed info as how to get the belt... I am in China but I can ask my friend in SFO to help me to pay n receive it for me, plz help to shed some light on how to get it processed... XIE XIE

  14. #14
    BooBoo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    From
    North Hollywood, California, United States
    Posts
    1,574

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    darth z

    Thanks for your interest. PM sent, Brother.

  15. #15
    bobafettsbuddy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    From
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    91

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    Came back from holiday in San Diego, to find my ROTJ belt waiting for me. The workmanship is first class. Terri is an artist. I am delighted with everything about this belt. Many, many thanks Terri.

  16. #16
    Evilhemmes's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2010
    From
    Ipswich QLD Australia
    Posts
    211

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    Terry Sir beautiful artisan skills, the smell of the real leather, the look, the feel, Astro builder has said it all and ill times it by 10, and the lil extra, mate that was scary i sent u that PM about the JP harness while the belt was in transit, must be that jedi mind trick LOL (or great minds think alike). everything so professional from the packaging to posted updates via USPS. U really are a master craftsman leading from the front. Cant wait for the next BBF installment.

  17. #17
    shteymetal247's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2012
    From
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    47

    Re: BooBoo Fett Ammo Belt Review

    BBF's belts are just awesome. I got my ROTJ/SE belt a couple weeks ago and shed a few tears of joy when I pulled it out of the box. I totally agree with Astro Builder's comment about how it has a serial number, I'm a proud owner of BBF 00140. Terry is a master of his craft.

Similar Threads

  1. BooBoo Fett ROTJ Ammo Belt #00001
    By BooBoo Fett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Nov 16, 2009, 10:05 PM
  2. BooBoo Fett Ammo Belts - Color Chase
    By BooBoo Fett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: Nov 14, 2009, 6:11 PM
  3. Jango Fett ammo belt pouches interest.
    By SEEKER in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: Feb 12, 2007, 11:45 PM
  4. Jango Fett ammo belt sign up.
    By SEEKER in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Aug 31, 2005, 7:14 PM
  5. Question on ESB Fett Ammo Belt
    By StarChild in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Aug 5, 2004, 12:28 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •