Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Subscribe
  1. stonerook's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    240
    Sep 18, 2006, 4:42 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #26

    Quote Jimmy BufFETT said: View Post
    Check it out:

    http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAP...odsportstudios

    All I can say is ... "IT'S ABOUT TIME!"

    Look at some of the auctions listed - they were selling the resin and other items to cast things...
  2. boba_fan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    34
    Oct 6, 2006, 8:00 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #27

    i have a set of blood sport studio gauntlets and i am quite fond of them! heres a pic tell me what u think.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gaunts.jpg 
Views:	336 
Size:	53.1 KB 
ID:	13326  
  3. Ripcode's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,268
    Oct 6, 2006, 11:25 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #28

    Quote boba_fan said: View Post
    i am quite fond of them! heres a pic tell me what u think.
    I think you are missing a gauntlet dart.
  4. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Oct 6, 2006, 11:40 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #29

    Quote boba_fan said: View Post
    i have a set of blood sport studio gauntlets and i am quite fond of them! heres a pic tell me what u think.
    Not bad, but all of the edges seem to be too square.
  5. Dha Syntir's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    648
    Oct 7, 2006, 1:02 AM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #30

    So the edges on the gauntlets needed to be sanded down to a more rounded appearance then? I wasn't aware of that. I'll file that in my memory for when I begin my own pair...

    Last edited by Dha Syntir; Oct 7, 2006 at 10:23 AM.
  6. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Oct 7, 2006, 1:55 AM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #31

    Quote Dha_Syntir said: View Post
    So the edges on the gantlets needed to be sanded down to a more rounded appearance then? I wasn't aware of that. I'll file that in my memory for when I begin my own pair...

    Well, I would say in the right gauntlet it should not be so square. I was using MOW's as a reference ... he makes some AMAZING gauntlets! Check out this thread:
    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=14374
    It looks to me like the right gauntlet has smoother edges than the left. I'm not as familiar with the ESB gauntlets, but for what it's worth, I know the ROTJ right gauntlet has smooth edges. Again, here's MOW's for reference:
    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=15125
  7. boba_fan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    34
    Oct 7, 2006, 4:57 AM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #32

    easy gentlemen we are all friends here. yes i am, missing a dart it must have fallen out b4 the pic was taken. and much yes to all the other criticisms but i am doing this for the first time as cheaply as possible. this is for the love of fett we are all doing this. be positive when someone has something new to be proud of because we all work hard for our passion. 80
  8. Dha Syntir's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    648
    Oct 7, 2006, 10:37 AM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #33

    I don't think anyone meant any disrespect boba_fan. I asked my question due to my inexperience, I wasn't sure which way the edges should be sanded and shaped.I believe you just received some friendly constructive criticism meant to help, which we are all subject to when we show our work amongst serious craftsmen and artists as those that frequent TDH. I do apologize if I offended you, I was just trying to find out which way was more movie accurate...





    Quote boba_fan said: View Post
    easy gentlemen we are all friends here. yes i am, missing a dart it must have fallen out b4 the pic was taken. and much yes to all the other criticisms but i am doing this for the first time as cheaply as possible. this is for the love of fett we are all doing this. be positive when someone has something new to be proud of because we all work hard for our passion. 80
  9. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Oct 7, 2006, 12:55 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #34

    Quote boba_fan said: View Post
    easy gentlemen we are all friends here. yes i am, missing a dart it must have fallen out b4 the pic was taken. and much yes to all the other criticisms but i am doing this for the first time as cheaply as possible. this is for the love of fett we are all doing this. be positive when someone has something new to be proud of because we all work hard for our passion. 80
    Sorry if what I said offended ya ... no offense intended. I was just trying to help ya in case ya wanted to make some modifications to those.
  10. batninja's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,900
    Oct 7, 2006, 1:38 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #35

    I think the right gauntlet is supposed to be a Jango gauntlet, no Boba. Notice the cut-lines below the darts.

    Bloodsport Studios doesn't know the difference, so he markets them as 'Boba Jango'.
  11. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Oct 7, 2006, 1:42 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #36

    Quote batninja said: View Post
    Bloodsport Studios doesn't know the difference, so he markets them as 'Boba Jango'.
    Is that where that came from? I always thought somebody marketing an item as would be so that the item would come up no matter what Fett somebody did a search for.
  12. Ripcode's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,268
    Oct 7, 2006, 2:09 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #37

    Quote batninja said: View Post
    I think the right gauntlet is supposed to be a Jango gauntlet, no Boba. Notice the cut-lines below the darts.
    Doh! Good Eye Batninja!

    I totally missed that and you are correct.
  13. boba_fan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    34
    Oct 7, 2006, 3:46 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #38

    well thanks for the help guys. although now i feel like i was ripped off!! lol.
  14. batninja's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,900
    Oct 7, 2006, 3:52 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #39

    Quote Jimmy BufFETT said: View Post
    Is that where that came from? I always thought somebody marketing an item as would be so that the item would come up no matter what Fett somebody did a search for.
    That's my point. There aren't too many people making both a Jango and a Boba, so when they search 'fett gauntlets' and these come up, they may feel that the gauntlets are for both characters, misleading them.

    So either Bloodsport Studios is intentionally misleading their potential customers, or they haven't done enough research to tell the difference in the two.

    Either way, it always helps to do research before making an eBay purchase.
  15. Member Since
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    579
    Oct 7, 2006, 4:44 PM - Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them. #40

    Has anyone seen F-N-S's new site thingy? I found it while searching on Ebay for stuff.

Similar Threads

  1. Man of War Studios
    By rick griswold in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Apr 16, 2010, 9:21 PM
  2. Black-listed website! Avoid www.saberforge.com!
    By Jedi Ranger in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jan 5, 2010, 11:10 AM
  3. Bloodsport Studios
    By JediFish02 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: Feb 8, 2006, 11:11 AM
  4. eBay Sellers To Avoid
    By SlackJawedYokel in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 84
    Last Post: Jun 17, 2005, 11:56 AM