Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

  1. #1

    Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    I was recently asked about my gauntlets, so I thought I'd submit my notes.
    I ordered a pair of ESB Gauntletts for my son, ignorant of other sources, from Bloodsport studios (and I use the term 'studio' loosely). Here's my conclusions after being older and wiser:

    1. Be ready to sand and use a dremel tool. They are
    very rough and have lots of excess resin and microbubbles. This includes the thickness of the gauntlets which varies from minor holes to overly thick. This
    also makes them heavy. I had to cover a couple of holes with furniture putty that worked well.

    2. Getting the two halves to match up is a challenge.
    There's a variance in the widths and it can be overcome, but jeez. Also, you'll be trimming the ends, one gauntlet had to have an inch sawed off. The lengthwise areas of the gauntlets were at off angles and had to be dremelled
    to have the two halves flush together. I was only marginally successful.

    3.They were $ 135 and showed up promptly. Would I buy them knowing what I know now ? No. I'd contact someone well liked and respected and go with them. As it's proved that he's a recaster and you cannot knowingly support that considering what a 'labor of love' this stuff is.

    I am frankly amazed at the level of quality and performance from people making everything from jet packs from Bobamaker to flak vests from 'batninja' to gauntlets from Ruffkin and many more. I'd hire all of them to come work for me, if such a thing were possible.

  2. #2

    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    O'Fallon, Illinois the STL
    Posts
    579

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    that's pretty much what everyone has said. Good luck with fixing them up.

  3. #3
    I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    From
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    Posts
    5,520

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    Fix them up, throw them on ebay, and buy Ruffkintoy

  4. #4

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    I'd do that, but selling them to some other poor sod to solve my problem, solves no ones problem. That and my son is learning how to make something work that's not ideal. A good lesson in todays,"I want it now and it has to be perfect," world.

  5. #5

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    So, if they're a recast, and the shells dont' match up, does that mean that the work they cast from also didn't match up, of they're a shoddy recast?

  6. #6

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    As far as I know, it's just a shoddy recast. I have seen some other recast guants that didn't match up, but it was only because they were poorly molded and cast.

    Its good to see a thread like this. But be warned, a number of the sellers of what we look upon as recasts etc, lurk on these boards and contact those who criticise them publicly. I have had the same problems from a well known seller who isn't one of our favourites. Just giving you a heads up!

  7. #7

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    If that's as rough as it gets, let him come. I emailed my thoughts on his work to him anyway.

  8. #8

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    i go to the rufkintoy's web site but i dont see the page for buy anything ! i dont know how to make a deal with them !

  9. #9
    evan4218's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    Roanoke, TX
    Posts
    1,789

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    he has a website? Just PM him.

  10. #10
    MacRory's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    187

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    I bought a pair of BSS gauntlets many months ago prior to my knowledge of TDH and I ordered a set from Ruffkin as soon as I could. BSS gauntlets were poorly made and with all of the tools I have I couldn't get them to fit properly. I hinged them, sanded, filled and sanded...all for not. I almost took them to the gun range and used them for skeet.

  11. #11

    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Whitehorse, Yukon
    Posts
    1,094

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    lorenreale said:
    A good lesson in todays,"I want it now and it has to be perfect," world.
    A lot of people here do the "I want it now, and if it's not perfect, I will make it perfect" route.

  12. #12
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    Check out these two threads:

    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=11723&

    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=9706&

    It seems a lot of people on here have had a problem (or problems) with this person.

  13. #13

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    This morning i got my jet pack buy from im on Ebay ! I have never see that ! Poor quality , Not complet , tell jet pack is made in fiberglass i receive resin jet pack (lots of excess resin and microbubbles) . For 250$ + shipping That make me uke


    bloodsport Studio

    Neyo
    Last edited by Neyo; Aug 4, 2006 at 3:56 PM.

  14. #14
    99centTaco's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2006
    From
    San Antonio Texas
    Posts
    1,640

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    Yeah I also bought some this past April, theywere heavy as heck and I did alot of sanding and dremeling. I only bought from him because I had a event to do at the end of that week I figured it will only be for that one event and it will be dark. So I grabbed a couple of spray paints and went to town. I'm not a good painter and didn't want to put that much into it being it was only going to be for that one time, any how heres how the tops came out, they servered their purpose and now they collect dust.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails untitled-jpg  

  15. #15
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    Check it out:

    http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAP...odsportstudios

    All I can say is ... "IT'S ABOUT TIME!"

  16. #16

    Member Since
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,001

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    Expect a new BF parts seller to pop up soon on Ebay

  17. #17
    batninja's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    1,900

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    I still think Vaticast Studios and Bloodsport Studios are connected somehow, if not the same. Their auction layouts and many of the pictures were the same. Maybe they dropped BSS to finally combine forces as Vaticast.

    I dunno...I'm a conspiracy theoretician at heart.

  18. #18

    Member Since
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,001

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    I've got a pair of BSS laying in the garage if anybody wants them, for a paper weight or something.

  19. #19
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jango 5204's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    Central, Ca
    Posts
    1,376

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    I got a pair from BSS collecting dust as well. Never even finished them. I waited and bought MOW instead.

  20. #20

    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    O'Fallon, Illinois the STL
    Posts
    579

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    batninja said: View Post
    I still think Vaticast Studios and Bloodsport Studios are connected somehow, if not the same. Their auction layouts and many of the pictures were the same. Maybe they dropped BSS to finally combine forces as Vaticast.

    I dunno...I'm a conspiracy theoretician at heart.
    you're probably right...like a sockpuppet ebay account or something.

  21. #21

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    I'm glad I didn't waste my meager supply cash on anything from BSS then!


  22. #22

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    Delta75 said: View Post
    I've got a pair of BSS laying in the garage if anybody wants them, for a paper weight or something.
    If you still have them and want to get rid of them let me or my wife skullleader know (I love a good challenge)

  23. #23
    formerly Sgt. Skirata Huntman's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,186

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    Ruffkin has never done me wrong ... ever.,,, But bloodsport? I had to chase my money down and drag it out of him. What am I a bounty hunter GEEEZ.

  24. #24

    Member Since
    Aug 2006
    From
    Long Island NY
    Posts
    126

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    Avoid at all costs. I bout something off ebay from them 5 weeks ago, still waiting. Luckily it was only 9 bux.

  25. #25
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: Bloodsport Studios--a review. Avoid them.

    chucky said: View Post
    Avoid at all costs. I bout something off ebay from them 5 weeks ago, still waiting. Luckily it was only 9 bux.
    File a PayPal complaint right away if you have not already done so ... the guy is no longer a registered user. (I hope you used PayPal.)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Man of War Studios
    By rick griswold in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Apr 16, 2010, 8:21 PM
  2. Black-listed website! Avoid www.saberforge.com!
    By Jedi Ranger in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jan 5, 2010, 10:10 AM
  3. Bloodsport Studios
    By JediFish02 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: Feb 8, 2006, 10:11 AM
  4. eBay Sellers To Avoid
    By SlackJawedYokel in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 84
    Last Post: Jun 17, 2005, 10:56 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •