Back Armor - opinions please

  1. #1

    Back Armor - opinions please

    OK, I need a little advice here... I have just finished sculpting and molding my Back Armor (I intend to make fibreglass copies soon). But before I sculpt the collar I need to ask "Do you think the back and collar should overlap as the picture attached or should they just butt up together?"

    It seems that most armor I've seen doesn't overlap, including my current set.

    Any advice will be most welcome. Thanks.

  2. #2
    DL44 Blaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    The first state
    Posts
    1,935

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    I personally think it should overlap...for reasons of pure accuracy and not to mention the added strength.

  3. #3

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    Overlap for Boba and butt up for Jango.

  4. #4
    sithlord23's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2002
    From
    Kamino (also known as Seattle)
    Posts
    1,221

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    Overlap all the way, it just looks wayyyy cleaner, plus you can fasten it closed with the shoulder bolts

  5. #5

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    Thanks guys, overlap it is.

  6. #6
    BobaFettSlave_1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2004
    From
    Amity
    Posts
    1,716

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    yo bobamaker are you the same bobamaker that sells the fiberglass peices on ebay?

  7. #7
    cal196's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    From
    Earth
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    Ya He is


    Just one request if your going to connect them together, make the neck hole stop sign shaped, and plenty big or it strangles you to death.

    hmm hard to explain the shape of the neck armor its shaped like this \_/ at the neck rotj version anyway

  8. #8

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    I'm going to vote for butting against each other.

    It looks to me like there is an extra bit underneath, here:



    To hold them together if strength is an issue.

    Or I could just be seeing things. I don't know.

    Cheers!
    TJ

  9. #9
    cal196's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    From
    Earth
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    I would just like to know how in the world you would put on something like that by yourself, and get the straps threw the slits, and get that bolted together.... with the neckseal and all, sounds like a pain.

  10. #10
    Slowmo's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    594

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    Mine is bolted on and it is definately a two man job. You have to have a helper to put on the jet pack anyway so it's no biggie.

  11. #11

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please


    cal196 wrote:

    Ya He is


    Just one request if your going to connect them together, make the neck hole stop sign shaped, and plenty big or it strangles you to death.

    hmm hard to explain the shape of the neck armor its shaped like this _/ at the neck rotj version anyway
    Don't quite understand what you mean, but I certainly understand the bit about getting strangled! This collar piece is nicely curved so it angles away from your throat. The collar has been molded and is curing. I will post some pics when I make the first fibreglass copy.

  12. #12
    cal196's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    From
    Earth
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    Well I looked on your site and the neck armor looks great, its like half a stop sign shape. Know what i mean now or still no? lol

  13. #13

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please


    cal196 wrote:

    Well I looked on your site and the neck armor looks great, its like half a stop sign shape. Know what i mean now or still no? lol
    Yeah, I get it now...

  14. #14
    batninja's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    1,900

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    I figure the decision's already been made, but I also prefer the overlapping design. There's just something about the process of being 'bolted into your armor' that makes it feel real.

    Also, can't the 'butt-uppers' (boy, does THAT sound bad) simply Dremel off the excess backplate armor in order for it to fit differently?

    Wonderful stuff!

  15. #15

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    I like the overlapping look, Just looks better

    Out of interest what does the back plate actually look like ?

  16. #16

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    It looks like this... Actually I have resculpted the bottom half to match the photo in the "Star Wars Chronicles" since these photos were taken.

    http://www.bobamaker.co.uk/

  17. #17

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    Thanks, nice site by the way

  18. #18

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    do you have a pic of your armor finished and painted ? thanks , cory

  19. #19

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please


    BH2372 wrote:

    do you have a pic of your armor finished and painted ? thanks , cory
    I am in the process of painting my Back and Collar at the moment, as soon as they're done I'll post a few pics of the completed set on my mannequin.

  20. #20

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    sweet , your stuff looks great with out paint , i may be upgrading soon .

  21. #21

    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    From
    St. Pete, FL
    Posts
    148

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please

    Are the bolts keyboard keys?

    Scott

  22. #22

    Re: Back Armor - opinions please


    Skaught wrote:

    Are the bolts keyboard keys?

    Scott
    No, I tried a few different keyboard keys but they all have an indented surface and different length sides, maybe the ones in the 1980's were less ergonomic!

    I sculpted these instead.

Similar Threads

  1. Your opinions on my back armor
    By clonecollector in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Jan 14, 2009, 9:03 AM
  2. Pics of drilled holes for back armor to collar armor?
    By Jodo Kast 3 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Oct 9, 2007, 2:56 PM
  3. Armor Weathering: Need Opinions
    By Jimmy BufFETT in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Feb 7, 2007, 11:52 AM
  4. Paintball Armor Opinions
    By tubachris85x in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Apr 11, 2006, 10:01 PM
  5. Fiberglass Armor (Opinions wanted)
    By C*E*N*O*B*Y*T*E in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2004, 3:19 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •