Attaching Armor

Attaching Armor

Just wondering what is the best way to attach armor to the vest is? (where do u get said Vest *jango type* by the way? lol) Bolts? somethin else? i have no clue ^^ im new to this stuff... so sorry if i have a bunch of stoopid questions. i went threw a couple of the forums to make sure this wasnt on there.. an it wasnt ^_^ so i thought i'd ask! thanks

From
    Westchester County, NY

Re: Attaching Armor

Hiya Skeeter,

I am going with Velcro sewn onto the vest and the other half glued to the armor. I figure, if it gets snagged on something or someone, the velcro will just detach and not rip the vest fabric.

Good Luck!

Well lets see about 4 choices, glue, magnets ,or the most famous methods ''snaps or velcro''.

I used velcro at the start and it was giving way at some of the stress points. (Top of belly piece, bottom tips of chest pcs.) Then I installed snaps which worked like a charm and now finally I have a mix of the two.

thank ya'll ^_^ helps me out alot! ^_^ soon as i get da stuff, i'll begin makin it. ^_^ post some pics wiff da whole progress thing too! again thank you VERY much!

I went with velcro, but don't just get the everyday stuff get industrial strength velcro, the stuff they use on tents etc.
    MUCH better adhesion

From
    Mosfellsbaer Iceland

I went with bolts. Works fine.

From
    Moesko Island

Surprisingly there is not a single piece of velcro on the real jango costume for example.

The chest and the back armor were permanently attached/glued on the vest !

What kind of glue works best?

From
    Moesko Island

Lodril wrote:

What kind of glue works best?
    That's the problem. I have no idea!

From
    manchester, UK

I tried the velcro route, not too bad but theres always the worry something may fall off, so I attached my new armour using bolts.
    Works a treat
    Jon

I used snaps for my armour.I swear by them.

From
    SW Minnesota, very small town