Subscribe
  1. DarthVeach's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    289
    Mar 22, 2011, 7:57 PM - Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #1

    Using Wizard Of Flight's templates I printed the large set. I am 6' even. I took this just to see if the large templates are the way to go for me. Obviously the ab plate will be more curved, so it looks wider because I simply taped it to my shirt. But it appears to me that everything hits where it needs to. PLEASE let me know what you guys think! I have my sintra and I am ready to get going on this!! Thanks everyone!

    Last edited by DarthVeach; Mar 23, 2011 at 9:03 PM.
  2. MADDMUDDER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    188
    Mar 22, 2011, 11:13 PM - Re: Off and running - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! #2

    once the neck piece is on it may be a tad tight maybe side the ab plate down a bit. look good to me
  3. DarthVeach's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    289
    Mar 23, 2011, 7:16 AM - Re: Off and running - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! #3

    Cool, I will do that. Other than that, do the pieces look well scaled to fit me?
  4. Mar 23, 2011, 8:45 AM - Re: Off and running - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! #4

    The scale for your body type seems right to me.
  5. redkraytdragon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,119
    Mar 23, 2011, 10:16 AM - Re: Off and running - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! #5

    Looks good to me
  6. Mr Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,078
    Mar 23, 2011, 6:58 PM - Re: Off and running - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! #6

    Like was mentioned, slide it down a little to the collar plat isn'te so close to the top of the chest plate. Round off the corners of the ab plate and you're good to go. The sizing seems good.
  7. DarthVeach's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    289
    Mar 23, 2011, 9:02 PM - Re: Off and running - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! #7

    New pics with collar. Keep in mind it is hard to get cardstock to lay down! Is it too crowded or am I just not taking into consideration the rounded shape of the abs and chest pieces. Does anyone think it should be sized down a bit? Thanks for everyone's help!



    Last edited by DarthVeach; Mar 23, 2011 at 9:17 PM.
  8. AFettFullofDollars's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,153
    Mar 23, 2011, 9:14 PM - Re: Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #8

    Looks spot on to me. Plus when you get the collar attached to the back plate and then the jet pack hooked on, it will pull it back against your neck. There are several pics of Jeremy Bulloch between takes 'holding' the collar down with his hand. He said during the filming of ROTJ that he would go back to the hotel at night with a mark across his neck looking like he had been collared.
  9. DarthVeach's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    289
    Mar 23, 2011, 10:23 PM - Re: Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #9

    Thanks AFFO$! I think I am going to round off the middle inside part of the collar as well so it can fit closer to my neck. My only concern is the pieces looking crowded. Maybe once I cut them from Sintra and curve them, it won't look that way. I am thinking I may have to adjust not only the corners of the ab piece, like Mr Fett suggested, but also the top "roof shaped" part may need to be angled in just a little bit.
  10. MADDMUDDER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    188
    Mar 23, 2011, 10:32 PM - Re: Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #10

    I think it looks good maybe a scootch lower on abs to reduce crowding but it really doesn't look bad at all
  11. Mr Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,078
    Mar 23, 2011, 10:59 PM - Re: Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #11

    Quote AFettFullofDollars said: View Post
    Looks spot on to me. Plus when you get the collar attached to the back plate and then the jet pack hooked on, it will pull it back against your neck. There are several pics of Jeremy Bulloch between takes 'holding' the collar down with his hand. He said during the filming of ROTJ that he would go back to the hotel at night with a mark across his neck looking like he had been collared.
    .....another good reason why I've never bolted my collarplate to my backplate. Trooping hours comfort before accuracy in this one aspect of my costume.
  12. BobaFiend's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    787
    Apr 11, 2011, 2:08 AM - Re: Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #12

    Looks like a good fit, you'll be fine.
  13. redkraytdragon's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,119
    Apr 11, 2011, 10:26 AM - Re: Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #13

    Remember too that a flak vest will be a little bit bigger/bulkier than a form fitting T-shirt...that will definitely affect the way it sits on you and the way it looks. If you happen to have your flak vest already, try sizing the templates to your body while wearing your flak vest. Or if you're really worried about it you can wait to make your armor until after you size it with the vest...honestly though I think it looks spot on
  14. DarthVeach's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    289
    Apr 11, 2011, 12:10 PM - Re: Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #14

    Thanks guys! At this point I have already cut my sintra and am shaping it now. It is working really well, so I will start a build thread soon!
  15. Ripar's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    Apr 15, 2011, 5:46 PM - Re: Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #15

    Good luck
  16. SCIENCE's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    31
    Apr 15, 2011, 6:38 PM - Re: Armor Test Fitting - I WANT OPINIONS!! PLEASE! New Pics 3/23 #16

    Just to add, once you sand or dremil the edges of the sintra to bevel it, it will add space between the plates as well. I used the same templates, and am about the same size, and it turned out perfect. Good Luck!

Similar Threads

  1. WWW.RBREPLICAS.COM IS UP AND RUNNING
    By RussRep in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Dec 4, 2009, 2:10 AM
  2. WWW.RBREPLICAS.COM IS UP AND RUNNING
    By RussRep in forum Site Support & News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Dec 3, 2009, 5:54 PM
  3. Skygunbro suits are almost up and running again
    By skygunbro in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: May 10, 2009, 7:50 PM
  4. I AM RUNNING OUT OF TIME!! HELP!!
    By PelsWick3000 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Aug 29, 2005, 1:45 AM